cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shutter Speed vs Screen Darkness

CassiLynne20
Contributor

I'm still very new to cameras, and I have a Rebel T5. When I get my shutter speed up, my photos are so much darker they're practically black. I know this has something to do with the light getting in, but I don't know how to fix it right in the settings. I've played around with it best I can figure, but don't know how to fix it. Even with a SUPER bright flash, it still looks black at the higher shutter speeds.

Please help.

Thanks! 

20 REPLIES 20

@jrhoffman75 wrote:

I don't understand what you mean by "takes only one photo". If you are in One Shot mode the camera will take one photo each time you press shutter button regardless of shutter speed.

If the shutter speed is that low in P it probably means that the lens is wide open and the ISO is at max.

When in P record shutter speed, aperture and ISO. Then dial those in Manual. You should get the same result in GS, P and M.

When you record them report back what they are.

One thing - just to be sure all is set well, go to the Menu and clear all camera settings and custom settings.

Annotation 2019-11-19 110411.jpg

I reset the settings and it's working now! I'm not sure what was selected that was making it wonky.

CassiLynne20 

Stop for a minute.  First lets determine if all is OK.  Put the camera in P mode, ISO set to 200, not auto ISO.  Lens in AF. Average WB. Go outside on a nice day at a nice park or other nice place and take some shots. If all is well the camera is fine.