Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-18-2019

Re: Shutter Speed vs Screen Darkness


@Ray-uk wrote:

It sounds as though you need to learn the basics of manual exposure, there are plenty of tutorials online.

 

Getting the correct exposure in settings other than automatic require a little juggling with the 3 variables, shutter speed, aperture and ISO. It is no good just increasing the shutter speed without adjusting one or both of the other two.

 

Likewise a flashgun will not necessarily help if you are going to use high shutter speeds unless you use high speed flash which is yet another learning curve.

 

As others have pointed out if your camera gets it right in Auto (green square) mode then the camera isn't faulty and the problem lies with the user.


I did full acknowledge that I'm still learning and that it might be me. I'm simply asking for help on figuring the settings out if it is in fact me. I've tried all of the different combinations of the SS, Aperture, and ISO which is why I wasn't sure if it was in fact a camera issue, but it could just be that I haven't found the right combination yet.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-18-2019

Re: Shutter Speed vs Screen Darkness


@MikeSowsun wrote:

Are you using an external flash for all these photos? 

 


I've tried it with, and without -- Though I'm thinking I'm not a fan of the external flash I have anyways (it came with the camera) because no matter if i'm inside/outside or what I change the exposure to, it's still blindingly bright.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-18-2019

Re: Shutter Speed vs Screen Darkness


@jrhoffman75 wrote:

Since you are getting proper images in Green Square your camera is functioning properly.

 

Try this:

 

1. Put camera in Green Square and take a photo. Check the setings ISO, shutter and aperture.

2. Switch camera to Program (P) mode. The settings should be the same.

 

GS and P use the same camera logic program. GS just disables a number of things you can chnage to be sure you get a proper image.

 

3. In "P", rotate the Main Dial next to the shutter button, You will see as one setting is changed (camera is usually setup to change the shutter speed with that dial) the other settings change accordingly to maintain correct exposure. You will also see the pointer in the righthand side of the viewfinder staying at the middle point because the program in the camera works to maintain correct exposure.

 

4. If you start moving things in Manaul (M) there is no longer a linkage. You can set shutter, perture and ISO anywhere you want independently. Tha's why you need to wtch where the pointer is and adjust appropriately.

 

Annotation 2019-11-19 064729.jpg

 

 


With GS and P the shutter is still so slow that it's basically only taking one photo (1/50) and I can't adjust that. So I swap to M and I've tried just about every combination for SS, Aperture, ISO, and Exposure and sometimes they're not as bad, but sometimes it's just flat our black even when pointed directly towards a bright light. That's why I suspected it might be an issue with the camera on the higher shutter speeds.

Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,003
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Shutter Speed vs Screen Darkness

I don't understand what you mean by "takes only one photo". If you are in One Shot mode the camera will take one photo each time you press shutter button regardless of shutter speed.

 

If the shutter speed is that low in P it probably means that the lens is wide open and the ISO is at max.

 

When in P record shutter speed, aperture and ISO. Then dial those in Manual. You should get the same result in GS, P and M.

 

When you record them report back what they are.

 

One thing - just to be sure all is set well, go to the Menu and clear all camera settings and custom settings.

 

Annotation 2019-11-19 110411.jpg

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-18-2019

Re: Shutter Speed vs Screen Darkness


@jrhoffman75 wrote:

I don't understand what you mean by "takes only one photo". If you are in One Shot mode the camera will take one photo each time you press shutter button regardless of shutter speed.

 

If the shutter speed is that low in P it probably means that the lens is wide open and the ISO is at max.

 

When in P record shutter speed, aperture and ISO. Then dial those in Manual. You should get the same result in GS, P and M.

 

When you record them report back what they are.

 

One thing - just to be sure all is set well, go to the Menu and clear all camera settings and custom settings.

 

Annotation 2019-11-19 110411.jpg


I reset the settings and it's working now! I'm not sure what was selected that was making it wonky.

Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,003
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Shutter Speed vs Screen Darkness

👍
John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
VIP
Posts: 11,689
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Shutter Speed vs Screen Darkness

[ Edited ]

 CassiLynne20 

Stop for a minute.  First lets determine if all is OK.  Put the camera in P mode, ISO set to 200, not auto ISO.  Lens in AF. Average WB. Go outside on a nice day at a nice park or other nice place and take some shots. If all is well the camera is fine.

 

If that works let's make "single" adjustments.  You can try Av and select a certain aperture, say f8, and let the camera choose the best SS.  Then select Tv, let's try 1/200, and let the camera select the proper aperture. Leave the ISO at 200 still on that nice day at the park. Going on, put the camera back in P mode and change the ISO setting.  All the while do notice the other settings the camera is making.  You will quickly see how things work, I am sure.

 

Put a small piece of black tape over the "green square" on the mode dial and forget it even exists. Smiley Happy  If you feel you need an auto setting always use P mode.

 

You can view all the settings on the LCD when you check your shots.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-18-2019

Re: Shutter Speed vs Screen Darkness


@ebiggs1 wrote:

 CassiLynne20 

Stop for a minute.  First lets determine if all is OK.  Put the camera in P mode, ISO set to 200, not auto ISO.  Lens in AF. Average WB. Go outside on a nice day at a nice park or other nice place and take some shots. If all is well the camera is fine.

 

If that works let's make "single" adjustments.  You can try Av and select a certain aperture, say f8, and let the camera choose the best SS.  Then select Tv, let's try 1/200, and let the camera select the proper aperture. Leave the ISO at 200 still on that nice day at the park. Going on, put the camera back in P mode and change the ISO setting.  All the while do notice the other settings the camera is making.  You will quickly see how things work, I am sure.

 

Put a small piece of black tape over the "green square" on the mode dial and forget it even exists. Smiley Happy  If you feel you need an auto setting always use P mode.

 

You can view all the settings on the LCD when you check your shots.


This is what came from that Smiley Happy Appreciate the suggestions!

Kuma.jpg

Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,003
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Shutter Speed vs Screen Darkness

First thing when buying a used camera, or when camera doesn’t seem to be working correctly is a reset of camera settings and clearing all custom functions.
John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
VIP
Posts: 11,689
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Shutter Speed vs Screen Darkness

Okay Kido looks goodbye to go. Now start playing with the settings one at a time
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement