cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shopping on a budget for starter Rebel- help!

Sher_2018
Apprentice

I have been shopping for a Rebel T4i or T5i

im getting back into my photography and have researched and watched all kinds of comparison YouTube’s-

i am looking for the articulated lcd screen for touch screen capabilities for AF, don’t like the porting system on T6i - I’m a beginner to DSLR so I figured the T4i was a good start for my budget. I’ll be shooting people, animals and landscape. Video clips and also need frame by frame for my horse shooting. Ugh- my brain is fried from searching. Anyone have any suggestions? 

WIFI connect to smartphone is a pref but not required. 

12 REPLIES 12

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

What do you mean by "porting system"? I really like my T6S. If video is your thing than you might want to stretch to the T7i since it has the best focus-during-video.

As long as 60 FPS is OK, they all can do frame by frame.

By porting system I mean where the charging, hdmi cable ports are located on the camera 

we are really just looking for somewhat of a starter and not go off the charts for new t6 or t7 

@Sher_2018 wrote:

By porting system I mean where the charging, hdmi cable ports are located on the camera 

we are really just looking for somewhat of a starter and not go off the charts for new t6 or t7 

There are no “charging” ports on any Canon DSLR. If all you really want is a “starter” camera, then I suggest that you revise your features and performance expectations downward..

[EDIT] Video performance is not a hallmark of Rebel camera bodies, particularly older and entry level models.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Not sure what you mean by “porting system”, nor “frame by frame”, but it sounds like you need a significantly larger budget than a used T4i, or T5i.