cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Settings for fast airplanes

Batfire2000
Contributor
Going to be taking pics at a rc plane field.
What is a good starting point for settings, I'm assuming manual mode ? And I'm confused on metering? Thanks, I'm very new to all this awesome hobby. Rebel T6i.
27 REPLIES 27

Here are some later shots of props, where I was trying to capture motion blur on the propellor.

EOS-1D Mark IV2017_08_121464.jpgEOS-1D Mark IV2017_08_121139.jpg

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

This shot should give you some idea of just how close you could get.  I was initially close to where the people are walking.  I could more than fill the frame with an aircraft at that initial position.

EOS-1D Mark IV2017_08_121517.jpg

It also shows why I felt I was WAY too close to pan on jets flying at speed.  I backed up to this position, and got much better shots when panning.

@Waddizzle wrote:

@cicopo wrote:

Where was your jet event? Was it the New England Jet Rally? A few friends are attending it.

It was a week ago in the mid-Hudson Valley by the Hudson Valley RC club.  I probably have the official name wrong.  For what little I know about RC shows, I don't think it was a "jet event."  [The show was titled "Warplanes Over The Hudson"]

It was more like the local RC club put on a show, which featured all types of aircraft.  They had jets, props, and helicopters.  They even had an area where people could fly a virtual plane, and later on "fly" a real plane, with a real pilot acting as co-pilot.

[picture omitted] 

@EOS 1D Mark IV, EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM - 1/400, f/5.0, ISO 100, @135 mm.