cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Settings for fast airplanes

Batfire2000
Contributor
Going to be taking pics at a rc plane field.
What is a good starting point for settings, I'm assuming manual mode ? And I'm confused on metering? Thanks, I'm very new to all this awesome hobby. Rebel T6i.
27 REPLIES 27

One suggestion I make now that I don't think is in the article is to set your camera so that it's between f 8 & f 11 when zoomed out at the empty sky where the planes will be flying. This is done after picking the shutter speed you want to use by setting an appropriate ISO and as the day goes by you should re check this. The idea is to avoid having the camera end up in the high F stop numbers which show any & all dust on the sensor. It usually forces the camera to use an f stop very close to wide open on low passes with a dark background (usually trees) but in general works out nicely. 

Have fun & enjoy the event too. I consider it as getting to enjoy 2 hobbies at the same time.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

@cicopo wrote:

One suggestion I make now that I don't think is in the article is to set your camera so that it's between f 8 & f 11 when zoomed out at the empty sky where the planes will be flying. This is done after picking the shutter speed you want to use by setting an appropriate ISO and as the day goes by you should re check this. The idea is to avoid having the camera end up in the high F stop numbers which show any & all dust on the sensor. It usually forces the camera to use an f stop very close to wide open on low passes with a dark background (usually trees) but in general works out nicely. 

Have fun & enjoy the event too. I consider it as getting to enjoy 2 hobbies at the same time.