cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Settings Correct on Canon Rebel T5?

Chloe0317
Contributor

I have been using a Canon Rebel T5 recently & I am not sure if the settings are incorrect or if the blurriness is due to camera shake. Would someone be able to tell me just by looking at one of the pictures? I am new to this, so appreciate any help. Thanks!

21 REPLIES 21

Thank you so much, I really appreciate all your help!

I saw this a bit late but I'll add a little bit on what others have said.  Not sure what mode you used to take this picture but there are a few things you could have chosen to improve the picture.

You shot at 1/200 with flash on (my guess is the built-in flash).  With the built-in flash, you can't use high speed sync so the fastest is 1/200 for this camera.  At FL 18mm, 1/200 is plenty fast and I don't think this is a problem.  Even though I shake a lot, 1/200 never causes me any problems.  However, your ISO was set to 800 while your f/stop was set to f/14!

f/14 is totally unnecessary here.  As a matter of fact, it contributes to your picture being not as nice as it should.  Beyond f/11, many lenses start to exhibit sharpness degradation due to diffraction error so unless you have to, try not to go beyond f/11.  Since this is a person's picture (i.e portrait), I'd shoot this at f/2.8 or f/4 for nicer background blur.  If you have shot this at f/4, your ISO would be very low like 200 or something instead of 800.  For this camera, ISO 800 starts to show noticeable degradation in IQ, imho.

For this particular picture...tough lighting, ISO 800 and f/14 all contribute to the picture not looking as nice as others with more optimum settings.

================================================
Diverhank's photos on Flickr

Thanks so much! I was in Portrait Mode and thought their default settings would be OK - I will set the settings manually in the future and see how it turns out.

According to your EXIF data...