cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Red Light, Black LCD Screen, and Auto-Focus Issues

clayharned
Apprentice

Hey guys,

I'm having some trouble here. I'm a Yearbook Teacher, and my kids just started experiencing some problems. I've looked around and done some research, but the issues I'm having are multiple.

This is on one of our Rebel T3i cameras. Here are the issues:

1 - When looking through the eye hole and using auto-focus, it appears very blurry, yet the image itself is actually IN focus. (Not a big deal, but for younger students it is really messing with them)

2 - After taking a picture or two, the LCD will then go to black and our images can't be viewed. The Menu and Info screens won't appear either.

3 - After that, the Red Light in the bottom right corner of the camera will stay on, even after the camera has been off for up to 30+ minutes.

I've tried different batteries, different media cards, different shooting Modes, different lenses, and I keep having the issues.

Can anyone please help?

Thank you in advance!

6 REPLIES 6

Peter
Authority
Authority

What version of firmware do you have?

Do you have a clock battery beside the main battery?

I have Firmware 1.0.2 and it's saying an update is required. I'm looking for the correct version now to update.

As far as the second part of your response, I'm a little confused. I have the main battery display on my LCD if that's what you're asking...

Thank you for the reply!

Clay H.

Mykolas
Authority

H clayharned!

Thanks for the post.

The first issue you are experiencing with the camera is likely a Dioptric Adjustment issue.  There is a very small dial immediately to the side of the viewfinder that adjusts the diopter of the viewfinder for different users' eyesight.  To adjust it, focus on a subject, waiting for the camera to give you confirmation of focus.  Then, turn the small dial in either direction until the image in the viewfinder appears in focus.