cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebel t5i 18-55mm pop up flash issue

ianlawrence
Apprentice
Im a beginner and my problem is that my new t5i is not working anymore in manual or auto int mode . I test it in the dark room, in auto mode, the flash is firing but the image is dark. Any suggestions?
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Appears we may have found a fix.

Thankfully we still had the camera under a two year protection plan so we sent it in for repair. It has been retruned to us with the repair summary noting that the Strobe Unit has been replaced. This appears to have fixed the issue. The flash is now synchronized with the shutter.

View solution in original post

35 REPLIES 35

Mykolas
Authority

Hi ianlawrence!

Thank you for posting!

Do you have a sample image you can upload that we can take a look at?  This will greatly help us to determine why the images are so dark.  I know that the AUTO mode is not always the best mode for every shooting condition, so it could be normal that the images are not properly exposed.  What settings did you use in the Manual mode that gave you a dark image?

If this is a time sensitive-matter, additional support options are available at Contact Us.

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.

I am experiencing the very same issues, although it happens sporadically. In all automodes, as well as manual. Doesn't matter which lens I use, nor how close or distant I am from what I am trying to photograph. This just started happening.

Assuming that your flash is in E-TTL mode (because it could be in manual mode -- in which case none of what I'm about to write would apply.)...

Make sure you have not dialed in flash-exposure compensation.  In full "auto" mode you wont be able to do that (full auto mode limits the things you can change) but in creative modes (P, Av, Tv, or M) you can change it.