cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebel T6 Flash

TightGit
Contributor

Good afternoon.

I've just bought a Canon 1300D (I believe also known as Rebel T6) and, being a complete novice at photography, I'm using it in Auto Mode.

I'm finding that the flash pops up and fires, even in bright sunlight.

This seems all wrong to me but, as I said, I'm not an expert.

Is this correct, please, or have I got a faulty camera?

Many thanks for any advice.

Peter.

31 REPLIES 31

@TightGit wrote:

Yes, I realise this is a quality camera and that i should be learning how to use it properly, but at my advanced years my eyesight and mental capacity will not allow me to use it to its full potential.

I just want to point and shoot!

A phone camera or a Canon PowerShot is what you want. 

Thanks for your interest.

Do either of your suggestions include the following?

(1) A viewfinder I can look through, as my eyesight prevents me from seeing a LCD on the back without putting on my reading glasses.

(2) Ability to add telephoto lens (at least 200mm) for when I go on African safari.

I have bad eyes, too.  I am very short sighted.  It is a major hurdle at times.  I need reading glasses to best see the LCD, but I need my distance glasses that I use for driving in order to see the viewfinder display clearly.  I can still see the LCD well enough with the driving glasses to use the menus, but not for really critical focusing using Live View.

1)  There is a viewfinder already built into the camera.  In order to use it, you must turn off the Llive View display.  You have a choice of using the viewfinder, or Live View.  Using the viewfinder is far less of a drain on the battery.

2)  Canon offers one of the widest selection of lenses for DSLRs in the industry.

https://shop.usa.canon.com/shop/en/catalog/lenses-flashes