cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebel T6 Flash

TightGit
Contributor

Good afternoon.

I've just bought a Canon 1300D (I believe also known as Rebel T6) and, being a complete novice at photography, I'm using it in Auto Mode.

I'm finding that the flash pops up and fires, even in bright sunlight.

This seems all wrong to me but, as I said, I'm not an expert.

Is this correct, please, or have I got a faulty camera?

Many thanks for any advice.

Peter.

31 REPLIES 31

@TightGit wrote:

Good afternoon.

I've just bought a Canon 1300D (I believe also known as Rebel T6) and, being a complete novice at photography, I'm using it in Auto Mode.

I'm finding that the flash pops up and fires, even in bright sunlight.

This seems all wrong to me but, as I said, I'm not an expert.

Is this correct, please, or have I got a faulty camera?

Many thanks for any advice.

Peter.

Maybe it thinks you need fill flash. (Maybe you do!)

If you switch the mode dial from Auto to "P", it should stop doing that.

For a self-confessed newbie, reading the manual is always a good option.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

diverhank
Authority

@TightGit wrote:

Good afternoon.

... I'm using it in Auto Mode.  I'm finding that the flash pops up and fires, even in bright sunlight.  This seems all wrong to me but, as I said, I'm not an expert.  Is this correct, please, or have I got a faulty camera?.

I'm a bit surprised that the camera knows how to do that...if your pictures look great with the flash firing, I think you should be glad the camera has the smarts.  I never shoot full auto so I simply do not know that the camera can do that.