Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎08-27-2015

Rebel T5i & How do I shoot in grayscale/black & White right from my T6i

I've had my T5i since September 2015 and I would like to know how do I shoot in grayscale/black & white straight from the camera insteaad of later going into Photoshop to change from color to grayscale/black & white.

 

Thanks.

Moderator
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-20-2012

Re: Rebel T5i & How do I shoot in grayscale/black & White right from my T6i

Hi scottjg24!

 

The EOS Rebel T5i is able to shoot in monochrome. You can do so by following these directions: 

 

capture12.JPG

Capture14.JPG

 

We hope this helps you out! 

VIP
Posts: 8,513
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Rebel T5i & How do I shoot in grayscale/black & White right from my T6i

Also, be sure to save your photos as JPEG format.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
VIP
Posts: 11,535
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Rebel T5i & How do I shoot in grayscale/black & White right from my T6i

[ Edited ]

Or, shoot RAW where it make no difference.

I am curious as to why?  RAW and PS offer much more creative control.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,048
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Rebel T5i & How do I shoot in grayscale/black & White right from my T6i

[ Edited ]

ebiggs1 wrote:

Or, shoot RAW where it make no difference.

I am curious as to why?  RAW and PS offer much more creative control.


And in DPP, B&W is a picture style, so an edited RAW file can maintain a color version of the image and a B&W version simultaneously. It wouldn't surprise me if Lightroom had a similar capability.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
VIP
Posts: 11,535
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Rebel T5i & How do I shoot in grayscale/black & White right from my T6i

B from B,

There is a new version. Smiley Happy   Digital Photo Professional 4.5.20 for Windows

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,048
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Rebel T5i & How do I shoot in grayscale/black & White right from my T6i


@ebiggs1 wrote:

B from B,

There is a new version. Smiley Happy   Digital Photo Professional 4.5.20 for Windows


Yeah, I know; I've been using it since it became available on the U.S. site (a week or two). As far as I can see, it still treats the monochrome picture style the same way as previous releases did.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎08-27-2015

Re: Rebel T5i & How do I shoot in grayscale/black & White right from my T6i

Okay.  I adjusted the settings to monochrome with my camera set in RAW mode, which is required for my photography classes @ IPFW (Indiana-Purdue University at Fort Wayne, IN) and when I downloaded the images from my memory card to Adobe Bridge CC and then Adobe Photoshop CC 2016, they came out in color.  Would they come out in monochrome if I used the JPEG setting?

 

I double-checked everything and I am just baffled........

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,048
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Rebel T5i & How do I shoot in grayscale/black & White right from my T6i

[ Edited ]

@scottjg24 wrote:

@Okay.  I adjusted the settings to monochrome with my camera set in RAW mode, which is required for my photography classes @ IPFW (Indiana-Purdue University at Fort Wayne, IN) and when I downloaded the images from my memory card to Adobe Bridge CC and then Adobe Photoshop CC 2016, they came out in color.  Would they come out in monochrome if I used the JPEG setting?


Probably. Remember that the whole point of RAW mode is that it retains all the information the camera saw, including color. A RAW file, as it comes out of the camera, will also retain various choices that you made, including the default picture style to be used to display it. But how that information (usually referred to as "metadata") is used depends on the editor. If you had opened the file in Digital Photo Professional (Canon's editor), I think it would have displayed in B&W, because it understands that you selected "monochrome" as the default picture style. (It would also let you select another picture style if you decided you wanted to see the picture in color.) A third-party editor like PS or LR isn't bound to obey that convention, or even to notice that a default picture style had been selected. But if you tell LR or PS to display or print in monochrome, it will.

 

But when you tell the camera to produce a JPEG, it applies the default picture style (and any other choices you made) as part of the process and then throws the metadata away. So if monochrome is what you asked for, that's what you get; and you no longer have the option of restoring the colors.

 

EDIT:  I guess I should have added that when you use an editor to convert a RAW image to JPEG, the metadata isn't retained in the resulting JPEG file. So once again, if you tell the editor to produce a monochrome JPEG, that's what you get and you can't change it later. But that doesn't matter, as long as you save the RAW file.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
VIP
Posts: 8,513
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Rebel T5i & How do I shoot in grayscale/black & White right from my T6i


@scottjg24 wrote:

@Okay.  I adjusted the settings to monochrome with my camera set in RAW mode, which is required for my photography classes @ IPFW (Indiana-Purdue University at Fort Wayne, IN) and when I downloaded the images from my memory card to Adobe Bridge CC and then Adobe Photoshop CC 2016, they came out in color.  Would they come out in monochrome if I used the JPEG setting?

 

I double-checked everything and I am just baffled........


Yes.  If you choose "Monochrome" in the camera, and JPEG as the file format, you will get B&W JPEGs.  I would suggest that you save the images in both formats, RAW + JPEG.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement