Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎08-27-2015

Rebel T5i: How do I go about connecting my external flash unit onto my T5i?

Okay, I know that to attach an external flash unit to my T5i is to physically connect the flash unit to the top hotshoe on my T5i.  That is too obvious.  BUT, how do I go about getting my T5i to RECOGNIZE and utilize the external flash unit?  I've looked through my menu screens but they are for the INTERNAL pop-up flash, which is built-in.

 

Thanks for the speedy response to my previous questions on my T5i.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,335
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: Rebel T5i: How do I go about connecting my external flash unit onto my T5i?

Not sure I understand your question. What flash do you have? Have you mounted it in the hot shoe but it isn't working OR are you trying to use it off camera?

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."
VIP
Posts: 11,117
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Rebel T5i: How do I go about connecting my external flash unit onto my T5i?

To use off camera flash, you need an ETTL cable or a wifi attachment, or trigger.  Either is readily available at camera stores like B&H or Adorama, etc.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV, even less and less other stuff.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,807
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: Rebel T5i: How do I go about connecting my external flash unit onto my T5i?

Which flash (model) are you using?  Is it a Canon flash?

 

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎08-27-2015

Re: Rebel T5i: How do I go about connecting my external flash unit onto my T5i?

Vivitar DF-383 for Canon cameras.  I will be upgrading to a Canon external flash unit sometime next year. 

VIP
Posts: 11,117
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Rebel T5i: How do I go about connecting my external flash unit onto my T5i?

I never used that flash but it may not be an ETTL capable unit.  If not that will make it more difficult.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV, even less and less other stuff.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎08-27-2015

Re: Rebel T5i: How do I go about connecting my external flash unit onto my T5i?

It should be ETTL.

VIP
Posts: 11,117
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Rebel T5i: How do I go about connecting my external flash unit onto my T5i?

Check the specs.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV, even less and less other stuff.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,957
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Rebel T5i: How do I go about connecting my external flash unit onto my T5i?


@scottjg24 wrote:

Okay, I know that to attach an external flash unit to my T5i is to physically connect the flash unit to the top hotshoe on my T5i.  That is too obvious.  BUT, how do I go about getting my T5i to RECOGNIZE and utilize the external flash unit?  I've looked through my menu screens but they are for the INTERNAL pop-up flash, which is built-in.

 

Thanks for the speedy response to my previous questions on my T5i.


I've not used a T5i, but I believe that generally those menu screens come up only when the external flash unit is mounted on the camera and turned on. Also, you may have to use a menu on the unit itself to make it tell the camera that it's present and functioning as a Canon-compatible flash. In any case, your T5i manual should include a chapter on using external flash. (On some recent models, the printed manual is abbreviated. So if you don't find such a chapter, look for a more complete manual on the Canon Web site or on the CD that should have come with the camera.)

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement