cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebel T3 Accessories

Zyclone
Contributor

Greetings everyone!

I am new to using a DSLR and currently have an out of the box EOS Rebel T3 kit with the standard 18-55mm lens. I was browsing amazon for a few accessories like lens filters, a lens hood and a remote. I found a few options on amazon but I am not sure if they are good. Is it recommended to buy Canon brand accessories only? Or will an off brand do just as good?

I live in sunny San Diego, CA and I like to take photos of family, friends when we are out and about around town, or while I am on a hike taking pictures of people with landscapes in the background.

Here are the link to the items I am looking at, I would appreciate it if I could get some feed back on these products:

Remote

http://www.amazon.com/Aputure-Coworker-Wireless-Powershot-Replaces/dp/B002KDXQKG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&...

Remote

http://www.amazon.com/Neewer-Wireless-Shutter-Release-Control/dp/B004WB8EYM/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1...

I already have a tripod and thought a remote would be a better way of taking a group photo instead of me setting a 10 second timer and running into the frame.

Lens Filters

http://www.amazon.com/Professional-Filter-Accessory-CANON-Cameras/dp/B0053V5MF4/ref=cm_cd_al_qh_dp_t

I believe these are supposed to reduce the light/sunshine that shows up in photos sometimes. But I am new to this, so I am not exactly sure which color lens will help me the most and in what situations. Also, this looks like some cheap made in China stuff, hence the low price. Is it good enough or a waste of money

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Delectronics&field-keywords=rebel%20t3%20le...

When I search for "Rebel T3 lens filter kit" the results show "58mm len filter" but my lens is 18-55... is it compatible? I am confused.

All feedback is welcome! I am open to any suggestions and product recomendations.

Thank you. 

13 REPLIES 13