Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-16-2015

Rebel SL1-blank LCD screen

With LCD auto off enabled,LCD screen is blank  for quick control, doesnt show captured impages after taking picture and blank when changing mode using mode dial. I am owning this camera for more than a year.dont see any firmware update or reset button. I tried clear setting. No use so far.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,816
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: Rebel SL1-blank LCD screen

With camera powered on... look at the back of the camera for a button labeled "Info".

 

That button toggles through several optional displays that can be offered on the LCD screen -- but one selection is to leave the LCD off.  Just press the "Info" button several times until it shows what you'd like to see (it cycles through 4 or 5 different choices.)

 

 

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-15-2019

Re: Rebel SL1-blank LCD screen

I had a blank screen when I turned on my camera. All the other features worked I could bring up the menu and info.  In messing with the camera to correct it I now get the screen for whatever setting such as landscape, portrait, etc. when I turn on the camera but I cannot get the first information screen. I have adjusted the nose piece so that was the original problem.  But how do get it to start with my original information screen and view?

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,468
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Rebel SL1-blank LCD screen

I don't know what you mean by "original information screen", but the info button will toggle amoung the screens. Also, the initial screen is somewhat context sensitive, you might have to change the mode.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-15-2019

Re: Rebel SL1-blank LCD screen

My info button does not toggle through different screens, unless somehow I am doing it wrong. It gives me basic info or goes back to whatever selection I have made among landscape, portrait, M, AV, TV, P, etc.  What I mean by first screen is that when I turn on the camera It gives basic info like battery life, how many photos remain, etc. I no lnger get this page and it also does not automatically bring up a picture for review after it is taken.

VIP
Posts: 8,509
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Rebel SL1-blank LCD screen


@geverson wrote:

My info button does not toggle through different screens, unless somehow I am doing it wrong. It gives me basic info or goes back to whatever selection I have made among landscape, portrait, M, AV, TV, P, etc.  What I mean by first screen is that when I turn on the camera It gives basic info like battery life, how many photos remain, etc. I no lnger get this page and it also does not automatically bring up a picture for review after it is taken.


I have not used a Rebel “SL”, but all of the Rebels share common features and behavior.  

 

What info displays appear should be fully configurable in the menu system.  What screen appears on power up, if any, also should be configurable in the menus.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement