cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RAW

Bdarin
Contributor
I'm new to Canon, have a Rebel 1200D. I don't fully understand the RAW setting. What does it mean and how does it affect the resolution? Thanks.
35 REPLIES 35

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

@Bdarin wrote:
I'm new to Canon, have a Rebel 1200D. I don't fully understand the RAW setting. What does it mean and how does it affect the resolution? Thanks.

The RAW setting creates files that are larger than JPEGs, but which allow for greater flexibility when you perform post-processing on the images after they have been shot. 

Consider how cameras worked before they went digital.  A picture was captured on film, which had to be developed.  Professionals could work magic in dark rooms by processing the film and developing a picture in different ways. Think of a RAW file as being similar to a film negative.

But, we also had cameras that produced an instant picture, which could not be processed after it was created.  These instant pictures produced no negatives, and there was little or nothing that could be done with an improperly exposed shot.  Those instant pictures that were produced are comparable to the JPEG files that the camera can produce.

Finally, always shoot in RAW.  Always create that digital negative, so to speak.  I have saved many shots because I shot in RAW.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

Raw does nothing for resolution. You get the same number of pixel's either way. As stated it does give you more latitude for post processing. However, I disagree a bit, JPEG processing is so good these days that I don't bother unless it is a tricky, one-of-a-kind shot like a sunset or eclipse.