cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Questions about lenses and filters

Norm12
Apprentice

I have a Canon Rebel 4ti. I would like an opinion on whether I should purchase a EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM Ultra-Wide Zoom for $599 or wait until the Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM Lens becomes available for $299.

My current lenses are all 58mm thread size so I am wondering if I wanted to buy a lens that was a higher thread size (62mm or larger) and I used an adaptor to attach my 58mm circular polarizer will that in any way interfere with the picture I am going to take?

Thanks in advance and please know I am new to DSLRs and just a hobbyist to start out with.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

You can put a larger diameter filter on a lens using a smaller filter, but not the other way around.  For example... my circular polarizer has a 77mm thread diameter, but my 100mm macro lens only calls for a 67mm thread (the filter is larger than the lens needs).  For THAT lens, I have a 67 to 77mm "step up ring".  

If you attempt to put a smaller filter on a lens that wants a larger size, you'll have dark corners caused by the edges of the filter being in the shot.

The new lens is essentially a cost-saving lens.  The STM motors are not as fast as the USM motors (the EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-5.6 has a USM motor).  Also the 10-22 gathers a bit more light (f/3.5 at the wide end vs. f/4.5).  

The two lenses have nearly identical MTF curves, but considering the main curve is taken at wide-open and the 10-22 has a lower focal ratio, the 10-22 is probably actually a little better optically.

In other words... perhaps the only reason one might wait for the 10-18 to be available in stores is because it's price point is a bit lower.  We haven't had anybody do a direct comparison yet, but my "guess" (and that's all it is since I haven't seen the lens either) looks like the 10-22 is still probably the better lens.