Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-10-2018

Purple hue

Hello everyone,

I was looking at some pictures I took a few days ago on my computer, and some of them had purple hue.

I can't seem to find anything in common in the purple pictures only. all pictures were taken with EOS Rebel SL2, It's a new camera that is well taken care of. I am a beginner, so trouble shooting is not something I can do just yet.

 

PS: when I view the pictures on the camera's screen they look fine, but when I opened them on the computer they had this purple hue. not all the pictures turn purple, only some. all pictures were taken RAW.

Thank you for your helpIMG_1156.jpg

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 693
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: Purple hue

Could you please upload the raw files? Google drive or dropbox for example.
A new camera and pictures on the camera display look good may be the raw converter that is not updated.
---------------------------------------------------------
My Swedish blog

M5, 7D, 6D, D30, 300D, 1000D IR, EOS DCS 3c, EOS D2000, 16-35/4L IS, 100/2,8 Macro, 70-200/2,8L IS II, 24-105/4L, 85/1,8, 50/1,4, 24/1,4L II, 300/2,8L IS, Helios 58/2

Darktable, RawTherapee, Photomatix, Luminance HDR, GIMP 2.9.9.
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 693
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: Purple hue

 If you use Photos 3.0, it supports 100D but not 200D.

---------------------------------------------------------
My Swedish blog

M5, 7D, 6D, D30, 300D, 1000D IR, EOS DCS 3c, EOS D2000, 16-35/4L IS, 100/2,8 Macro, 70-200/2,8L IS II, 24-105/4L, 85/1,8, 50/1,4, 24/1,4L II, 300/2,8L IS, Helios 58/2

Darktable, RawTherapee, Photomatix, Luminance HDR, GIMP 2.9.9.
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 9,388
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Purple hue

[ Edited ]

"I was looking at some pictures I took a few days ago on my computer, and some of them had purple hue"

 

There are three tings to try.  What editing software are you using?  You need to be using the free Canon DPP4.  If you don't have it, you can d/l it from the Canon web site.  Secondly, you need to get a new high quality SD card.  Don't buy cheap off brand SD cards. Lexar, Snadisk, Transend, etc are best choices.

Lastly, and worse case it a failing sensor in the camera.

 

Very first thing is to try DPP4 for your Raw conversion.  Do this today!

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV, along with, a lot of other stuff.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-10-2018

Re: Purple hue

At some point you probably checked out 'Custom White Balance' and shot against something that was picked up.  The camera has corrected the white balance for whatever you pointed at. Reset custom settings or something Smiley Wink

 

I could either be spot on or horribly off.

Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,435
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Purple hue

What shooting mode are you using on the mode dial?  What is your white balance setting?

 

If you get the same result when you shoot in full auto, Green [A] mode, then your image sensor is shot.  If not, then you White Balance is probably set to Flash.  Change it to Auto.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,457
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Purple hue


@Waddizzlewrote:

What shooting mode are you using on the mode dial?  What is your white balance setting?

 

If you get the same result when you shoot in full auto, Green [A] mode, then your image sensor is shot.  If not, then you White Balance is probably set to Flash.  Change it to Auto.


I don't believe the example submitted by the OP can possibly be explained by an erroneous or suboptimal white balance setting.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
VIP
Posts: 9,388
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Purple hue

"I don't believe the example ... (is caused by)...  white balance setting."

Neither do I, for one thing he said, "... all pictures were taken RAW."  There is not WB when shooting Raw.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV, along with, a lot of other stuff.
Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,435
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Purple hue


@ebiggs1wrote:

"I don't believe the example ... (is caused by)...  white balance setting."

Neither do I, for one thing he said, "... all pictures were taken RAW."  There is not WB when shooting Raw.


If the EXIF associated with the image says flash, guess what happens?  The image gets processed with flash WB.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,435
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Purple hue


@RobertTheFatwrote:

@Waddizzlewrote:

What shooting mode are you using on the mode dial?  What is your white balance setting?

 

If you get the same result when you shoot in full auto, Green [A] mode, then your image sensor is shot.  If not, then you White Balance is probably set to Flash.  Change it to Auto.


I don't believe the example submitted by the OP can possibly be explained by an erroneous or suboptimal white balance setting.


Believe it.  When all I had was T5, initially I would use P mode a lot.  I had to manually raise the flash.  I shot some pictures of the Christmas tree, and gifts being opened.  That afternoon, I went outside to shoot photos, but did not need the flash.  The photos turned out looking almost exactly like the OP’s sample.  Everything was purple and pink.  

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement