cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with my new (refurbished) Canon Rebel t4i. Anyone know what's going on?

irocz0r
Apprentice

So, my girlfriend got me this sweet Rebel t4i for Christmas. I'm still learning how to use it, but it's giving me a problem, and I don't know if it's because something's wrong with the camera, or if I'm doing something wrong.

85% of the time, when I try to take a picture or video, instead of taking the picture, it just says "BUSY" on the screen. Sometimes the flash buzzes and flashes light, but no picture. Sometimes if I hold the button down for an extended period of time it will take a picture, sometimes it just fritzs out.

I really like this camera but because of my schedule I haven't found time to sit down and really figure it out. There's a warranty on the camera, plus it was purchased recently, so I need to know if I need to send it back.

I can take a video of what it's doing if that'll help.

6 REPLIES 6

pjmacd
Enthusiast
I can't think of any setting or combination of settings on the camera that would do what you're describing. Since it's still under warranty, I think you need to send it back (sorry).

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

There may be nothing wrong at all... this sounds like the camera isn't able to focus.  If there isn't much light on your subject (e.g. shooting indoors) and the subject doesn't have enough contrast in poor lighting, then the issue would be normal and not a camera problem at all.

By default, the camera is in "One Shot" mode -- but a side-effect of One Shot mode is that the camera uses a behavior called "Focus Priority".  

Focus Priority says that the camera is told NOT to take a photo UNTIL it can confirm that it was able to lock focus on something.   Depending on the available light, the camera may struggle to do this.  There must be enough light.