cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pictures not coming sharp with T3i

JayS
Apprentice

Hi all,

I am a newbie with SLRs. The pictures from my Canon Rebel T3i is not coming sharp. I have tried both Aperture priority as well as Shutter priority modes. I am not sure if my settings are not right or if i am not focusing right. I have attached a pic that i took recently. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

IMG_2696.JPG

IMG_2749.JPG

Thanks,

Jay

6 REPLIES 6

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

I looked at both images in DPP at 1:1 zoom and I think they are fine. What do you feel is unsharp about them?Capture.JPGCapture2.JPG

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

Thanks for the reply John. If you look at the details (the leaves on the tree in first pic and the grass in the second pic) they don't appear to be clear. Also the color in the pictures doesn't look sharp. I have seen pics from other SLRs and they look pretty clear and sharp. 

Hi Jay. I should have been more clear in my response. I don't see anything in the image files that would indicate there is a camera problem.

Your Photo 2 was taken using Faithful Picture Style, which is intended for post processing. The sharpness in the file is "0". Adding some sharpness in DPP and a slight twaek to saturation gives more snap to the actual image.

Capture.JPG

Your Photo 1 was taken usinging Landscape PS; which applies a sharpness of 4.

Its hard to see exactly where the camera was focusing, but its somehwere behind the couple. Looks like it was in the trees.

Capture2.JPG

The pine needles seem sharp.

Capture3.JPG

It also looks like you are shooting a small file size (3.6MB) (Must be Small-Fine)

Capture4.JPG