cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie Camera Recommendation? Used or New?

vagaphotos
Apprentice
Hey! I'm a newbie looking to get my first DSLR. I'm not going to try to make photography my career, but I do want a good quality DSLR for travel photos/videos. My only requirements: vari-angle monitor and can shoot video. I was hoping to get a used T3i but since they were discontinued, they are obviously few and far between. I was hoping to get a used camera because of price and since I'm a beginner, it would be something that would give me a good opportunity to learn. I'm open to suggestions on what camera to get. I know nothing, so any info would be good. Thanks!
5 REPLIES 5

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

I am not a big fan of buying used.  Especially buying consumer grade cameras and/or lenses.  It is OK and a good way to get some equipment but you must know either the person you are buying from or how to test the camera/lens very throughly.

Buying use pro gear is usually a good deal as it is so much more durable.  It is also worth reparing if necessary.

A good place to get used cameras is KEH.  They give you a good return policy.  B&H and Adorama are good sources, too.

Be careful on Craigslist.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

If you can get a good price on Craig's List and you can see the seller and get a good vibe, I think it can be a good deal. I have never bought there but I have sold, and people got a very good deal on perfect equipment from me. But yes be careful.

A used lens should be no more than 70% of retail, and a body should be less than that. A lot less if it is 3 models out of date.

A T3i would be a good starter camera.
Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites