cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to the Canon family

CodyJayRoberts
Contributor

Hello,

I am new to the canon family, I have purchased the Canon rebel t5 with the 18-55mm lens kit. I have read the manuals and video tutorals on the canon website. I have purchased the camera as a hobby and to capture family memories. I am just looking ffor more tips that aren't on the manuals and video tutorials, I would like to take pictures at a basketball game but understand it would be difficult with the set up have. Are there any tips or sugestions to get the most out of the set up I have without purchasing new equipment until I am comfortable with the set-up I currently have?

thank you 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

The Rebel series is Canon's entry level DSLR product line, and the T5 is a less featured Rebel. It costs one-tenth of the flagship 1DX, so of course there are compromises. It's certainly not a horrible DSLR.

For family events, travel, landscapes it is certainly capable. High speed action and low light will be a challenge.
John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12

You should probably poke around on the Canon Web site. I believe they have a number of videos on a variety of topics for users like you (and for more experienced users as well). Also, you can lurk here in the forums and see what questions get asked and answered.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

ok will do thanks Bob.

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Browse here - Canon Digital Learning Center - : http://www.learn.usa.canon.com/home/home.shtml

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

Thanks,

the next question i have "is the Rebel T5 a horible DSLR as most people claim or can quality pictures really come from this body?

thanks 

Cody