cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New photographer

illestshots
Apprentice

Im new to photography and I just got a Canon EOS Rebel t3i 600D. Any suggestions on equipment or lens to help me start out and learn more about my camera?

4 REPLIES 4

ScottyP
Authority
I'd ditch the neck strap and get a shoulder sling strap. This one is the Cinch strap by Luma Labs: http://luma-labs.com/pages/cinch

I'd start watching digital photography tutorials on Google Videos on various topics starting with "the exposure triangle". Very simple, but it is THE central concept in photography.

I would get post processing software like Adobe Lightroom 5 and gradually get used to shooting in RAW rather than JPEG because it gives you so much more room to correct exposure and white balance in your images.

Good luck!
Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

You just bought a body?  No lens came with the Rebel?  If not go buy this lens today. EF-S 18-55mm  <--- click me.

Does your local community colleg give photography course?  Way, way much better than Google or Youtube.  Even better than just reading books or the internet like some of the postes here do.

A real live person you can talk to and ask questions is always best.  Not to say this forum will not help as there are some very knowledgeable folks here.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!