Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-18-2017

New Microphone, t6 recognizing it as a monitor. Help CANON EOS REBEL T6

Okay I am new to cameras. I know a bit but not a lot. Anyways, recently I purchased my T6 and I got a microphone from the bestbuy I got it from. 

The microphone is a 3.5 cord so I had to get an adaptor for it to fit the 2.5 port. 

When I turn on my camera it does not display the screen until I flip to the movie mode(makes sense) BUT even then if the microphone is plugged in I can not press record, when I unplug it I can record but I feel like it should not be that hard. 

Any tips? I think it might be that the mic needed an adaptor that its messing up. 

Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,332
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: New Microphone, t6 recognizing it as a monitor. Help CANON EOS REBEL T6


@Zavistt wrote:

Okay I am new to cameras. I know a bit but not a lot. Anyways, recently I purchased my T6 and I got a microphone from the bestbuy I got it from. 

The microphone is a 3.5 cord so I had to get an adaptor for it to fit the 2.5 port. 

When I turn on my camera it does not display the screen until I flip to the movie mode(makes sense) BUT even then if the microphone is plugged in I can not press record, when I unplug it I can record but I feel like it should not be that hard. 

Any tips? I think it might be that the mic needed an adaptor that its messing up. 


You need to slow down and read the instruction manual.  As I recall, the T6 DOES NOT have a microphone input.  All of your questions, and more that you have not thought of yet, can be answered by reading the manual.  DO IT.  Before you smoke your camera.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-05-2017

Re: New Microphone, t6 recognizing it as a monitor. Help CANON EOS REBEL T6

Yep, the T6 does NOT take a external microphone unfortunately. I was super disappointed when I found this out AFTER I ordered it. You can however record your video on silent mode and use an external microphone on a laptop or recording device.. then sync it up in an editor. Pain in the butt, but that's what you have to do.. I've yet to figure out how to do it.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,898
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: New Microphone, t6 recognizing it as a monitor. Help CANON EOS REBEL T6

This is exactly why hollywood invented the "clap board".

 

Start your video a little early and clap your hands in front of the camera. In post, use the visual indication of the clap to line it up with the clap.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 301
Registered: ‎01-31-2017

Re: New Microphone, t6 recognizing it as a monitor. Help CANON EOS REBEL T6

See pages 160 and 178 in PDF Instruction Manual for the T6.

 

"Sound will be recorded by the built-in monaural microphone. An external microphone cannot be used."

 

Read and study the manual. You will be lost without it. 

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-04-2019

Re: New Microphone, t6 recognizing it as a monitor. Help CANON EOS REBEL T6

OMG, "clap board", I'm blown away!!!!! I never really knew the real purpose of it, I'm like stoked right now. Specially because I am BIG on sound quality, I mean BIIIIGG !!!! So basically now all I got to do is set up my camera and my high en audio recording equipment and I can make music videos, WOW, I'm still blown away by the clap board.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,898
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: New Microphone, t6 recognizing it as a monitor. Help CANON EOS REBEL T6

If that makes you excited, you should look into SMPTE Time code:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SMPTE_timecode

 

This is why newer clapboards have digital displays on them.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clapperboard

 

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,094
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: New Microphone, t6 recognizing it as a monitor. Help CANON EOS REBEL T6

That 2.5mm jack you used most likely is for a remote shutter release cable

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-04-2019

Re: New Microphone, t6 recognizing it as a monitor. Help CANON EOS REBEL T6

I will try and learn SMPTE this weekend. Thanks.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,898
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: New Microphone, t6 recognizing it as a monitor. Help CANON EOS REBEL T6

You answered a question from 2 years ago.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement