cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Microphone, t6 recognizing it as a monitor. Help CANON EOS REBEL T6

Zavistt
Apprentice

Okay I am new to cameras. I know a bit but not a lot. Anyways, recently I purchased my T6 and I got a microphone from the bestbuy I got it from. 

The microphone is a 3.5 cord so I had to get an adaptor for it to fit the 2.5 port. 

When I turn on my camera it does not display the screen until I flip to the movie mode(makes sense) BUT even then if the microphone is plugged in I can not press record, when I unplug it I can record but I feel like it should not be that hard. 

Any tips? I think it might be that the mic needed an adaptor that its messing up. 

9 REPLIES 9

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

@Zavistt wrote:

Okay I am new to cameras. I know a bit but not a lot. Anyways, recently I purchased my T6 and I got a microphone from the bestbuy I got it from. 

The microphone is a 3.5 cord so I had to get an adaptor for it to fit the 2.5 port. 

When I turn on my camera it does not display the screen until I flip to the movie mode(makes sense) BUT even then if the microphone is plugged in I can not press record, when I unplug it I can record but I feel like it should not be that hard. 

Any tips? I think it might be that the mic needed an adaptor that its messing up. 

You need to slow down and read the instruction manual.  As I recall, the T6 DOES NOT have a microphone input.  All of your questions, and more that you have not thought of yet, can be answered by reading the manual.  DO IT.  Before you smoke your camera.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

kittyvannever
Apprentice