cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Canon Rebel t6... what do I need to know???/

williamchaudary
Apprentice

I'm a (very) amateur photographer who has been doing photography for a year now with my DJI Mavic Pro. For aerial shots, it's great, but I've been wanting something for ground level that isn't my cell phone. Two friends who do a lot of photography strongly recommended the Canon Rebel t6 since it's on sale and I have zero camera experience.

The camera will arrive in a few days but in the meanwhile I'm trying to learn as much as I can. Who do you trust for comments, reviews, information, etc. What should I learn first? I feel really overwhelmed but excited as well. Thanks!

17 REPLIES 17

In order to do many of the things you can do in Elements 2019, you will need BOTH Lightroom AND Photoshop.

For example, Elements has an image organizer, sort of a "lite" version of Lightroom. Photoshop has "Bridge", but it's not as good an organizer.

And Elements can work in layers and masks, like Photoshop can... but Lightroom can't. The clone tool is much better in Photoshop and Elements, too.

Elements also has built in support for new users. You can choose between highlyu guided "Beginner" mode, or more advanced and less guided "Intermediate" or "Expert". Neither Lightroom nor Photoshop have this sort of support. Photoshop, in particular, has a much steeper learning curve (plan to buy books and take classes, to learn to use it well).