cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Canon Rebel t6... what do I need to know???/

williamchaudary
Apprentice

I'm a (very) amateur photographer who has been doing photography for a year now with my DJI Mavic Pro. For aerial shots, it's great, but I've been wanting something for ground level that isn't my cell phone. Two friends who do a lot of photography strongly recommended the Canon Rebel t6 since it's on sale and I have zero camera experience.

The camera will arrive in a few days but in the meanwhile I'm trying to learn as much as I can. Who do you trust for comments, reviews, information, etc. What should I learn first? I feel really overwhelmed but excited as well. Thanks!

17 REPLIES 17

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi WIlliam

Welcome to the forum. 

Not knowing how much you DO know about photography I will assume pretty much zilch...  If you have access through your local library to the website lynda.com (if its in the catalogue it's free access), or just visit it directly - (30 days free), you can get access to a huge number of videos on the basics of photography.

Basically you need two types of skill:

1. TECHNICAL - that means understanding the Holy Trinity of imagery: shutter speed, aperture and ISO - what the characteristics of each are, how they interact and how they impact on your images.  Once you get those under your belt you can use any camera. 

Also you need to read your camera's manual - you need to become competent in using the controls, and preferably finding them without having to look.  That may take a while and some of it will depend on your homework on theory.