cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multiple Problems with my rebel t5

carolinemac14
Apprentice

Hi there! Recently I purchased my eos rebel t5 from a certified amazon seller. I am fairly new to canon, but some of the problems I have some across has only happened to me. The first being that when I plug the usb into my macbook (air), the device doesn't show up. I downloaded the Image browser and when I got to the connection part, it did not read it. I am currently running the 11in air and I do not have  disk drive so I cannot install the CD. I have OS X Yosemite 10.10.15. The second problem is with the auto focus. I had to change it to manual focus because I the "half" press and "full" press doesn't seem to work. It only ever focuses when I press the button to take the picture. I truly do not understand these problems and I would like a quick response before I decide to send it back

5 REPLIES 5

diverhank
Authority

You can download all of the software and drivers online - remember to select the correct Operating System:

https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/portal/us/home/support/details/cameras/dslr/eos-rebel-t5-ef-s-18-...

What mode are you shooting?  Are you using live view (LCD display) or through the view finder?   Regardless of the settings, when you use the view finder AND the Scene Intelligent Auto mode (the green rectangle with the A inside), the Auto Focus should work.  If it doesn't work, check your lens and make sure the focus button is set to AF and not MF and try again.

If you're using live view, do not select Quick Mode.  When you use Quick Mode, the mirror flips up and you can't tell whether it is focusing (it is, you just can't tell)

If that doesn't work, I think you should send the camera back.

================================================
Diverhank's photos on Flickr

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend