Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎11-30-2015

Re: Macro lens for the SL1

Hi Biggs,

Thank you again!


May I ask: what camera did you use for the photo? I love the color quality...


Thank you and all the best,

Annie

VIP
Posts: 8,065
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Macro lens for the SL1

"Heres my NEW question:  Am I going to need a special mount for this also for the tripod? (like a lens ring mount) The lens is quite big and heavy.  I saw a thing that allows you to slide the camera as a unit forward and back w. a dial to focus with a reversed lense." 

 

I would forget about reversing a lens.  It only makes sense if that is the only use for the lens.  Forget about reversing an old existing lens you may have had laying around for the last 20-30 years.  The image quality will be a disappointment because a modern digital camera can, AND WILL, expose all of the flaws in most any old lens.  Look at the current crop of macro lenses by Canon, like the EF-S 60mm macro.

 

As far as needing a special mount for a tripod, that depends upon the head, not the tripod.  Cameras mount onto a tripod head, and heads mount onto tripods.  Cheap tripods have a head that cannot be removed.  The most common type of "universal" tripod mount, quick release plate, is called "Arca Swiss", which is a defacto standard, for lack of a better description.  If you install an Arca-Swiss compatible plate onto your camera, or lens, then you will be able to mount your rig onto gear made by a wide range of manufacturers. 

 

That thing you saw that allows you to move the camera on a set of rails is called focusing rails.  Someone posted a picture of a set of rails, just above.  A set of quality rails can be costly.  Focusing rails are typically used with software that allows you to perform what is known as "focus stacking", which probably will not run on your existing PC.  With your budget, forget that I even mentioned either focus stacking or focusing rails.  Sorry.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
VIP
Posts: 8,065
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Macro lens for the SL1


@amatula wrote:

Thank you!

This (and all the responses) are very helpful. I appreciate your taking the time to respond.

May I ask: what is the "2/10 second timer?"  Are you referencing the self-timer? If you are I am inferring that you suggest this so I would not have to press shutter release and therefore, less likely camera shake will factor in.


Thank you!

Annie


Bingo.  You've got it.  Sorry for the abbreviated  reply....but I knew you could figure it out.  Smiley Wink 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Super Contributor
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎03-11-2016

Re: Macro lens for the SL1

well Bob, you just saved me a whole wad of money.  I thank you for that.   I just saw that post with the picture of the "focusing rail" after I wrote that. I was excited because that was exactly what I was talking about.  It sounds to me like the 60mm is the way to go (around $360.)  

I thought if I COULD use those old lenses why not try, but I wll take your word for it, not worth it.  It would be just terrible to have to do everything manually, now that I have experienced the quality and luxury of a DSLR,lol  Far better in many ways.  Why go backwards....

In my situation, the 50mm and magnification filter set has been the route I chose for now.  I'm able to get very close, I'll be able to tell you more in the fall when my flowers bloom if it's close enough.   A bit disappointed in the Cannon 50mm/1.8stm.  It feels kinda cheap in the mechanism and noisy (to me) but only had it for a couple of days. I love the weight, very little. Great for hiking.  You be the judge when I get a pic worthy of puttinig up.

 

I want to do the layering you mentioned, and I think theres a way to do some on advanced v. of picMonkey.  But I fear you're correct about the processing part of all this.  Will have to get an "adult version" of a computer, dl the software from the camera and get into photoshop/lightroom   (some ppl swear by chrome, but I've yet to meet one of them that is a photographer that needs to do some processing)  I have so many cool ideas in my head, the how to is the puzzle.  And part of the fun!

 

T Y also for the info about the tripod mount.  I will look for one as my next purchase instead of a new tripod.  I wanted to get a quick release anyway, so I'll look for that one.

You all have been SO helpful.  I hope Annie got her questions answered too.  You ALL are great.  THANK YOU,  Liz

VIP
Posts: 11,117
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Macro lens for the SL1

[ Edited ]

First lets straighten out the SL1 body.  It is of aluminum and polycarbonate resin body construction.  It is not plastic in the sense of the word.

 

"I have 2 (old) lenses (macro and telepphoto) from the old AE-1 ..."

Forget this idea.  Unless you just want to waste a lot of time and money.  I learned that from experience.  It can be done but it isn't easy and the new modern lenses are very much better.

 

" Do I need to mount the lens or the camera to the tripod?"

Almost always it is best to mount a tripod to the lens.  However the ef-s 60mm doesn't come with a tripod mount.  I doubt there is even one for it.

 

"PicMonkey which seems to be a bit less advanced ..."

I will be of little to no help with that.  You should look at Photoshop Elements when you get a PC.  Avoid a Mac.  Too much trouble with printing.

 

 

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV, even less and less other stuff.
VIP
Posts: 11,117
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Macro lens for the SL1

Annie,

That was just a snap shot.  I was trying out the Sigma 35mm and mostly just playing around.  I cropped it as much as I could to see where it would break down.

It was on my 1Ds Mk III.  This was the most advanced full frame camera Canon made until the 1Dx came out.  The Ds3 still has higher resolution than the 1Dx or even the new 1Dx Mk II.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV, even less and less other stuff.
VIP
Posts: 11,117
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Macro lens for the SL1

"It sounds to me like the 60mm is the way to go ..."

OK lets see if it is.  I say the Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM Lens is the way to go.

Why?  First it is a vastly better lens. That alone is reason enough but.  Second it allows an increased working distance from your subject.  If you are doing insects this can be critical. It does have a tripod mount available.  And if you ever decide to go with a more advanced full frame camera the 100 will go right along.  But the 60mm won't.  You will have to buy the EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM Lens anyway!

Now which sounds like "the way to go"?

 

Other choices:

Sigma 105mm f/2.8 EX DG OS HSM Macro Lens for Canon

Tamron SP 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro Autofocus Lens for Canon

Tokina 100mm f/2.8 AT-X M100 AF Pro D Macro Autofocus Lens for Canon

 

As listed would be my opinion.   Check them out before you buy anything.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV, even less and less other stuff.
Highlighted
Super Contributor
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎03-11-2016

Re: Macro lens for the SL1

Okay, now I'm going to have to do some homework.The 100mm looks pretty nice.  I haven't looked at the others yet.  I did take a pic today w/ the 50 mm, I am VERY disappointed.  AF doesn't seem to be sharp at all.  Heres a sample.

50mm 1.8  f 4.5 iso 100 1/100  Maybe if I turned up the shutter speed it would seem better focused.  I like the kit lens better, hate to say it.IMG_0196butterfly.jpg

Super Contributor
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎03-11-2016

Re: Macro lens for the SL1

why not the sigma 35mm that you used? btw that one looks good too. What is the disadvantage of buying the "international version" of a lens?
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,103
Registered: ‎02-06-2013

Re: Macro lens for the SL1

[ Edited ]

@fatcat wrote:

Okay, now I'm going to have to do some homework.The 100mm looks pretty nice.  I haven't looked at the others yet.  I did take a pic today w/ the 50 mm, I am VERY disappointed.  AF doesn't seem to be sharp at all.  Heres a sample.

50mm 1.8  f 4.5 iso 100 1/100  Maybe if I turned up the shutter speed it would seem better focused.  I like the kit lens better, hate to say it.


Hi fatcat,
Hope you won't take offense at what I'm about to tell you.
Granted the 50mm f/1.8 STM is not exactly a macro lens but the example you showed pointed out perhaps the weakness in your technique.  Close up pictures of flowers and butterflies are not the easiest to master because of the shallower depth of field.  Unless you have the technique down, it doesn't really matter what lens you get, you will not be happy.  Here are a couple of pictures I took with the 50mm f/1.8 STM and as you can see, there is no problem with focusing for this lens...

 

f/2; 1/100020000354870_39558fd41c_b.jpg
f/2, 1/320

20000356110_5973c50daf_o.jpg

 

I use an EF 100mm f/2.8L IS USM Macro lens for macro...it's a whole lot better than the 50mm f/1.8 STM for macro, of course but focusing is just as "hard".  Here are a couple of examples:

 

12423620354_b432bea557_k.jpg

 

26876053121_a1ba953ea3_k.jpg

================================================
Diverhank's photos on Flickr
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement