Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-01-2017

Lens error on Rebel T6

I am able to take a few pictures and then keep getting error the camera can't recognize lens. I have cleaned it still times. Will take a few more pictures and then get the error again. What could be causing this to happen?
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,972
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Lens error on Rebel T6

Possibly a failing data ribbon in the lens. Which lens is it?

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
VIP
Posts: 8,579
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Lens error on Rebel T6


@jamm004 wrote:
I am able to take a few pictures and then keep getting error the camera can't recognize lens. I have cleaned it still times. Will take a few more pictures and then get the error again. What could be causing this to happen?

What is the error message?

Is this happening with a Canon lens, or a third party lens?

Do you have another lens you can try on the camera body?

 

If you are using a Canon lens, like the one that probably came with your T6 camera, then all of it is hopefully still under the original Canon warranty.  In this case, I would contact Canon U.S. Support at 1-800-OK-CANON.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
VIP
Posts: 11,633
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Lens error on Rebel T6

"I have cleaned it still times."

 

You can stop doing that as it is almost to never the problem.  But I guess you have come to realize that fact.  It is possible to make it worse by cleaning the contacts improperly.  Never use an eraser for instance.

 

"What could be causing this to happen?

 

You will have to provide a lot more infor for any reasonable answer solution.  If you call Canon support, they will ask, too.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-01-2017

Re: Lens error on Rebel T6

Canon EFS 18-55mm
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-01-2017

Re: Lens error on Rebel T6

Thank you. Calling Canon is my next step. I'm in Ireland right now purpose of buying a better camera. Did not have this problem before trip.
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-01-2017

Re: Lens error on Rebel T6

If I don't connect the lense all the way it will take punctures. Just very light over exposed. The minute I connect the lense fully I get error 001
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,972
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Lens error on Rebel T6

If you Google "Canon 18-55mm ribbon cable" you get the story.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
Highlighted
Product Expert
Posts: 978
Registered: ‎10-16-2012

Re: Lens error on Rebel T6

Hi Jamm004,


Thank you for posting.

 

Without testing your camera with a second Canon EF or Canon EF-S lens, it's not possible to definitively say that the lens or camera is the issue. If you have access to a second lens, known to be good, I recommend checking your camera with that to determine the most likely cause of the malfunction.

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement