Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-28-2015

Re: LCD screen has gone blank

Hello, I have just inserted the eyecup again until to hear a clip sound. Probably it moved a little bit up the last time I used it.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-26-2015

Re: LCD screen has gone blank

I have carefully compared the structure of my Rebel T3i camera with the manual.  You all are describing something that looks like this:

http://www.manualslib.com/manual/454362/Canon-Eos-Rebel-Sl1-18-55mm-Is-Stm-Kit.html?page=15#manual

My camera does not look like that.  There is simply nothing like the "Display-off sensor (p.42)" on my camera.  Nevertheless, I removed the rubber eye cup and the screen did not come to life.  

 

If anyone knows of a second suggestion, please speak up.  Otherwise I am stuck for an expensive repair that may cost more than the original camera.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-22-2016

Re: LCD screen has gone blank

YAAAASS this saved me thank you!!!

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-28-2016

Re: LCD screen has gone blank

I've been traveling in Spain with my new Canon T5 and after three weeks of taking photos.  Today the screen, too, has decided to go blank.  Suggestions?

Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,538
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: LCD screen has gone blank

Blank screen?  If you cannot call up menus or saved images, then you may likely have an LCD screen failure. Make sure that the camera is "awake", though.  Press the shutter to wake up the AF and exposure systems, then press "Q" or "Menu", or the playback arrow key.

 

The solution presented in this thread would not apply to a T5 because it doesn't include the feature that this thread addresses.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-27-2013

Re: LCD screen has gone blank

Check the eye cup around the viewfinder eyepiece. If it moves it blocks the display off sensor.
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-05-2016

Re: LCD screen has gone blank

Hello Scott,

 

I have the same issue of display gone blank in LCD Screen.. I tried cleaning all the sensors...  But when I move the video option, the display working.. but on any of the photo option. Can you please help in resolving this.

 

THanks for your help in advance

 

Best wishes


Raghunathan


ScottyP wrote:

Will it work under any circumstances? 

Will it work (show moving pictures) in live view shooting movies? 

If you press "MENU" do  you see anything? 

If you hit the "PLAY" button can  you view photos you have taken?


 

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-28-2017

Re: LCD screen has gone blank

For me it was the rubber cup issue.  I would have never found this.  Thankks!!

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-28-2017

Re: LCD screen has gone blank

Thanks for your post.  For me the rubber eye piece was bumped up a bit doing just what you said.  I never whould have figured this one out.

 

Thanks Bill

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-01-2017

Re: LCD screen has gone blank

Did you already disable the LCD auto-off? It can be found on the Menu (which is located in upper left). Mine went blank too, but it got fixed already.
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement