cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Issue with Magenta Tinting

FelixA7
Contributor

Hi all,

I own an EOS t7i and, in the last 7 months or so, I've struggled with magenta tinting of my photographs. No amount of white balance adjusting helps to bring the coloration back to what it is in real life. I could make the colors have a green or gold hue, but those look even more unnatural than the magenta. 

I am separately an astrophotographer and several of my astrophotographs, when perfectly tracking at long exposures, have a field of tiny, magenta/red grain to them. I've tried various astrophotography specific approaches to eliminate the grain, which some of the professionals in the field refer to as "walking grain." None of those approaches have worked. I'm wondering whether that tinted grain is related to the magenta base that I get when using auto whitebalance. 

Thanks!

Felix

P.S. This is my first time posting on this forum and I apologize if this topic has been covered elsewhere. 

15 REPLIES 15

John, I believe the OP has a camera setting and/or photo shoot set-up issue more than a camera fault. The reset and  outdoors test will confirm it.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

@ebiggs1 wrote:

John, I believe the OP has a camera setting and/or photo shoot set-up issue more than a camera fault. The reset and  outdoors test will confirm it.

I agree. 

Based on his astrophotography images I consider the results to be expected. The T7i isn't a high ISO champ. 

I think the room environment for the easel shot is challenging the capability of the camera auto WB capability. Room seems to have a green bias when the adjusted image is available. Red/magenta is opposite green on the color wheel. 

Your advice for an outdoor shot is right on. 

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

"...  there’s still the magenta tint or, less frequently a greenish tint."