Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-03-2019

Is this auto focuse acting up?

I am having a video recording issue with my Canon Rebel T5i while video recording. I’ve used two different lenses and both seem to do this. It happens at the start at 0:01, 0:06, 0:14, 0:21, 0:24, etc...

 

I am not sure how to describe it. Is it auto focus or auto zoom?

 

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=xX5dLF4rxzc&t=5s&index=3&list=UUKUjJB4adFPxZgpsMaRyLQw

 

I’ve looked around the forums a bit. Tried switching off AF. I used portrait mode but also saw it in landscape mode. 

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,988
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Is this auto focuse acting up?

[ Edited ]

I did not look at the videos, but since only one lens and only one or two canon cameras auto-zoom and you need an external attachment to do it, it must be auto-focus.

 

What two lenses?

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,143
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: Is this auto focuse acting up?

Looks to me that the zoom on the lens was "hunting", the focus remained the same.

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,143
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: Is this auto focuse acting up?

If you have Movie AF Servo enabled try turning it off

Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,486
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Is this auto focuse acting up?


@2ndbase wrote:

I am having a video recording issue with my Canon Rebel T5i while video recording. I’ve used two different lenses and both seem to do this. It happens at the start at 0:01, 0:06, 0:14, 0:21, 0:24, etc...

 

I am not sure how to describe it. Is it auto focus or auto zoom?

 

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=xX5dLF4rxzc&t=5s&index=3&list=UUKUjJB4adFPxZgpsMaRyLQw

 

I’ve looked around the forums a bit. Tried switching off AF. I used portrait mode but also saw it in landscape mode. 


I do not believe that your camera can perform tracking AF in movie mode.  You must manually select focus points.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,143
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: Is this auto focuse acting up?

I only mentioned Movie Servo AF because the movie he posted shows signs of what is listed in the last bullet on this notice from the T5i manual. The image changes size momentarily now and then but it is just a thought

 

Capture.JPG

 

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-03-2019

Re: Is this auto focuse acting up?

Thank you. I am going to give this a try and will post my observation. The description in the manual does seem similar. I use a tripod so there should be no camera movement. 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement