Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-26-2018

Re: Is there a way to fix the No Card in Camera problem on a T3i without spending $190 plus shipping

Also, this was the lense I just bought. It's a beaut.

 

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MCUQP4X/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

 

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-16-2019

Re: Is there a way to fix the No Card in Camera problem on a T3i without spending $190 plus shipping

This actually DID work! I'd seen it mentioned on another site and tried it, so I'm glad to tell anyone here who asks that blowing hard in the slot seems to clear out whatever may be causing this. I'd taken the card in and out numerous times, tried sliding the lock switch back and forth (no luck)...then saw mention of blowing into the slot.

 

As soon as I put the card back in I noticed the little red light blink on the back of the camera and knew something had changed. Voila! Fixed!

 

(Now this really is aggravating that something as idiotic as this can happen...but at least it's fixable.)

Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,558
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Is there a way to fix the No Card in Camera problem on a T3i without spending $190 plus shipping

Is five years and nine months a new record for how long a thread stays active?

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-10-2020

Re: Is there a way to fix the No Card in Camera problem on a T3i without spending $190 plus shipping


@lhalasz wrote:

Ok, I just registered as a user on this forum to post about this. I was crying over the issue as we're about to go to France, I just bought this lense, and suddenly my camera is spitting out a "No card in camera" error like everyone else is saying. With no time to try to repair it, I tried other memory cards, to no avail. I couldn't reformat on my camera as it wasn't recognizing the card, so tried reformating on my laptop and reinserting. No change. So i literally took a TOOTHPICK (I by the way don't really recommend doing this but I was 100% not giving a f*** anymore) and went up and down inside the card slot with it. I did not drag it side to side. I was incredibly gentle, with the toothpick just reaching inside like a cutip in my ear (yeah also don't recommend that but i'm OCD so yeah). And guess what? Fixed it. I'm shook. Good luck anyone reading this. If you want, I'll sell you the toothpick I used for $250 and if it doesn't work I'll refund you (kidding). Let me know if you try this and it works though.



Ok, I just registered as a user on this forum to post about this. I was not crying over the issue. Just tried what @lhalasz did and it worked. Actually did try both methods, toothpick then blowing. Blowing worked in the past but was not working this time. So I tought, whatever particles I was blowing out they were stuck before toothpick came in. So, once loose, I still had to blow them. From now on there's toothpick cleaning regularly. I will send you a detailed infographic of the toothpicking and scheduling for only $89 (jk, imnt). Let me know if you want some noodles of myself.  
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-19-2020

Re: Is there a way to fix the No Card in Camera problem on a T3i without spending $190 plus shipping

That did not work for me. My PC can read my card, but it still says No SD card in my Canon Rebel. I hope there is nothing wrong with my camera because I will be upset if there is. Very expensive to buy.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-20-2020

Re: Is there a way to fix the No Card in Camera problem on a T3i without spending $190 plus shipping

Hello all... totaIly new member here that just had this problem with my Canon Rebel EOS T7i. I just want to give my 2 cents to what I just did. And I know that this is not recommended, but I figured I'd give it a shot before sending the unit to Canon. I did some reading on these Canon message boards about SD card errors. The "little" prongs in the SD card slot get slightly bent on occasion. So I inspected them with a flashlight and noticed one of them looking different than the others. I "very gently" stuck a toothpick in the slot and pried up the little prong, lifted it a bit. Slip a SD Card in there there and BOOM, it's now reading the card. Just a little camera story for you (that went lucky for me) to shake your head at 😜... hope you have a good night 👍💪🙏

Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,238
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Is there a way to fix the No Card in Camera problem on a T3i without spending $190 plus shipping

Good for you. I can't even see them in my T6S.

 

 

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-20-2020

Re: Is there a way to fix the No Card in Camera problem on a T3i without spending $190 plus shipping

Trust me, it's not easy looking at them without any kind of magnifying help... they are SMALL and very delicate. I'm about to go grab my camera and see if it's still reading the card. Be safe, stay healthy!

Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,238
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Is there a way to fix the No Card in Camera problem on a T3i without spending $190 plus shipping

I am very nearsighted, my eyes *are* magnifying glasses. 8^)

I have been spoiled at my various employers. We always have good stereo metallurgical microscopes.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement