Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-05-2016

Re: Is there a way to fix the No Card in Camera problem on a T3i without spending $190 plus shipping

I agree. I had the same problem.
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-30-2012

Re: Is there a way to fix the No Card in Camera problem on a T3i without spending $190 plus shipping

[ Edited ]

I have a T5i and on several ocassions this has happened now to me. After re-inserting the card it clears. I believe in my case the cause is the small switch that is actuated by the SD card while inserted. Without viewing the logic diagram of this circuit I can not be 100% sure but it would appear this is a permissive and is the cause for the message in my case. To prove this I inserted a Micro SD card adapter with NO Micro SD card in it see photos doing this yielded the message "Card can not be accessed..." If I close the SD card door with NO card inserted the message displayed is "No card in camera".
So the SD card sense switch appears to be the root cause of this issue well at least in my case that is.
As far as fixing it you would have to locate the switch to see if it is hanging up due to dust/dirt and that would require some technical skills.
BTW I am an electrical/electronics technician though I don't work on cameras rather power plants.

Bob

 

IMG_4857.JPG

FullSizeRender.jpg

FullSizeRender_1.jpg

 

"Cameras don't take pictures, photographers do."
VIP
Posts: 8,643
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Is there a way to fix the No Card in Camera problem on a T3i without spending $190 plus shipping


@bobakman wrote:

I have a T5i and on several ocassions this has happened now to me. After re-inserting the card it clears. I believe in my case the cause is the small switch that is actuated by the SD card while inserted. Without viewing the logic diagram of this circuit I can not be 100% sure but it would appear this is a permissive and is the cause for the message in my case. To prove this I inserted a Micro SD card adapter with NO Micro SD card in it see photos doing this yielded the message "Card can not be accessed..." If I close the SD card door with NO card inserted the message displayed is "No card in camera".
So the SD card sense switch appears to be the root cause of this issue well at least in my case that is.
As far as fixing it you would have to locate the switch to see if it is hanging up due to dust/dirt and that would require some technical skills.
BTW I am an electrical/electronics technician though I don't work on cameras rather power plants.

Bob

 

IMG_4857.JPG

FullSizeRender.jpg

FullSizeRender_1.jpg

 


Using micro-SD cards is highly inadvisable.  Their use seems to be the common denominator with a lot of problems.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-30-2012

Re: Is there a way to fix the No Card in Camera problem on a T3i without spending $190 plus shipping

You are  correct. Due to the second set of contacts in the Micro SD card adapter a high IR condition or open can rear it's ugly head and cause issues loss of data and such. In this instance I was using the Micro SD card adaptor as a troubleshooting aid hence no micro SD card in the adaptor.

Bob

"Cameras don't take pictures, photographers do."
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-22-2016

Re: Is there a way to fix the No Card in Camera problem on a T3i without spending $190 plus shipping

Ok, I just had this problem. Went and bought a new 16G Sandisk card & put it in and got the same message. I took it out and flipped the switch to lock the card and popped it back in the SD slot. I then got a message that showed the card was lock protected. So, I knew it was recognizing the card. I took it out and flipped the switch back, popped it back in the slot and got the same message that of "No Card." I then opened the door for the SD slot and pushed the card to eject and load about three times, then it worked.

I hope this helps others.

Merry Christmas and happy shooting to all of you Smiley Happy
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-30-2012

Re: Is there a way to fix the No Card in Camera problem on a T3i without spending $190 plus shipping

Yep still sounds  like an intermittent switch issue as inserting and re-inserting the card will often work as in your case and mine. The root cause could be poor quality hardware such as the switch and or switch actuator it's self or the mounting of the switch bottom line IMHO it appears to be a hardware issue related to the switch.

Bob

"Cameras don't take pictures, photographers do."
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-21-2018

Re: Is there a way to fix the No Card in Camera problem on a T3i without spending $190 plus shipping

FYI... in case you still have this camera... have you tried blowing any dust or anything that may be inside the SD card slot? Mine was doing this and after a day of trying everything I did that REALLY HARD about 3 times and it fixed it. 

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-18-2018

Re: Is there a way to fix the No Card in Camera problem on a T3i without spending $190 plus shipping

I had this problem once with a camera. Turns out that, somehow, one of the pins in the card reader bent. That was a PITA.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-18-2018

Re: Is there a way to fix the No Card in Camera problem on a T3i without spending $190 plus shipping

I locked the SD card and put it in the camera. It said the card was locked. I took the card out and unlocked it and put it back in and it worked thank goodness.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-26-2018

Re: Is there a way to fix the No Card in Camera problem on a T3i without spending $190 plus shipping

Ok, I just registered as a user on this forum to post about this. I was crying over the issue as we're about to go to France, I just bought this lense, and suddenly my camera is spitting out a "No card in camera" error like everyone else is saying. With no time to try to repair it, I tried other memory cards, to no avail. I couldn't reformat on my camera as it wasn't recognizing the card, so tried reformating on my laptop and reinserting. No change. So i literally took a TOOTHPICK (I by the way don't really recommend doing this but I was 100% not giving a f*** anymore) and went up and down inside the card slot with it. I did not drag it side to side. I was incredibly gentle, with the toothpick just reaching inside like a cutip in my ear (yeah also don't recommend that but i'm OCD so yeah). And guess what? Fixed it. I'm shook. Good luck anyone reading this. If you want, I'll sell you the toothpick I used for $250 and if it doesn't work I'll refund you (kidding). Let me know if you try this and it works though.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement