cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'm a rookie whats the difference between the eos ti and eos t3i other than price? features???

cipeg22
Apprentice

4 REPLIES 4

hsbn
Whiz
http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon-T3i-vs-Canon_EOS_Rebel_T1i
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Weekend Travelers Blog | Eastern Sierra Fall Color Guide

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

Canon doesn't have a "Ti" -- I'm wondering if you were asking about the difference between a T3 vs a T3i (in which case... that "i" suffix is a HUGE difference.)

In North America, Canon's entry series DSLR bodies have the "Rebel" name.  They tend to release a new updated version of the camera just about every year.  But rather than disconinue the previous model, they tend to slide all the models down a notch.

This year, the top end of the entry-range is the T5i.  Last year it was the T4i.  The year before that it was the T3i (you get the idea.)  

However... Canon also keeps a model which is intended to cover the basics, yet be the most affordable entry level DSLR they sell.  That model lacks the "i" suffix -- that's the T3.  They do _not_ re-introduce a new basic entry body each year... hence there was no T4 nor T5 (as there was a T4i and T5i).  The T3 and T3i both were introduced in the same year.  The T3 was (and still is) Canon's most basic DSLR when it was introduced but at that time they were still marketing the T2i and T1i (neither of which is made anymore.)

The sensor used on the T2i, T3i, T4i, T5i, 60D, 70D, and 7D are all "APS-C" size 18 megapixel sensor and offer about the same image performance (and notice the T3 is not on this list).  The differences in each camera tends to be features, control, performance, build quality and other benefits -- but not major differenes in teh sensor.