cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'm a rookie and need all the help I can get.

rimshot
Contributor

Greetings, I too have a Canon T5 Rebel and have a million questions.  I'll start with only one though.  When I have the camera and lens set to auto and I'm shooting indoors with low light, using the screen to see the shot, the square in the screen turns kind of orange and the camera won't focus or shoot. The lens tries to focus by going in and out a couple times then stops and the shutter won't engage. Is this operator error?  Or should I be contacting Canon? ...Thanks for any help. 

8 REPLIES 8

cicopo
Elite

NORMAL. The camera won't take the shot until the AF locks onto something.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

I would think that in fully auto mode it would lock on, just pop the flash up and take the shot.  I'm just now learning SLR's but it seems like I would be missing a lot of shots trying to get it to lock on.  The light wasn't that low either.  I'm determined to learn how to set it manually but I'd like to be able to get shots quickly on auto. I'll be retireing pretty soon and will spend countless hours learning.

Full Auto is not the best mode to start in. The AF however doesn't care which mode you're in but needs something with contrast for it to lock onto. Even outdoors trying to lock focus on a shiny car can be a bit of a task at times. Unless you're intent on natural light in low light situations set the camera to Program mode, enable the flash & set the camera to use the AF Assist beam. Also if you will take my advice learn how to use Exposure Compensation as well as Flash Exposure Compensation which will both make your life much easier when learning how to get better photos. THEY DON'T WORK IN AUTO.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

@cicopo wrote: