Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 849
Registered: ‎03-06-2013

Re: I have an older Rebel xt. Just got a new computer and the software will not work,

If you checked under your XT session, it will not have compatible software. However, you can use newer software for the 1DX, 5DMIII or 6D. They're the same software and they support your camera also. It's just that the XT is no longer supported that's why Canon didn't update it under the XT software section.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Weekend Travelers Blog | Eastern Sierra Fall Color Guide
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: I have an older Rebel xt. Just got a new computer and the software will not work,

Thanks! I will give that a shot!

 

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-28-2013

Re: I have an older Rebel xt. Just got a new computer and the software will not work,

Your display is *capable* of 1023 x 786, but is it set to that? The setting can vary. You can check and adjust, by going to:

Control Panel > Display > (click on) Settings tab.

There is a slider (or some variation thereof) to adjust the actual resolution setting.

Worth a try!

 

MrsBerry

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: I have an older Rebel xt. Just got a new computer and the software will not work,

Thanks for the reply. Yes, my settings are higher than that. I have basically given but thanks for all the replies.

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 12,270
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: I have an older Rebel xt. Just got a new computer and the software will not work,

I agree with Alan Myers.

I don't know why so many people fret over the bundled software when better alternatives exist.

Photoshop Elements is the way to go and is not an expensive solution. Coupled with the fact it will do far more than the entire Canon CD, why not?

 

Try it out, you may like it.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: I have an older Rebel xt. Just got a new computer and the software will not work,

Thanks, actually I only was interested in connecting to my compouter to download my pictures but that will not work. I wil just have to take out and use the storge card for that purpose. Darned if I can figure out why a display setting, even though correct, would stop this is beyond me. lol Thanks again.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-28-2013

Re: I have an older Rebel xt. Just got a new computer and the software will not work,

Will Photoshop Elements download the photos? That is my only issue: I don't use the Canon software for anything but downloading the photos.

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: I have an older Rebel xt. Just got a new computer and the software will not work,

I will know soon. I am buying it. Thanks Smiley Happy

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 12,270
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: I have an older Rebel xt. Just got a new computer and the software will not work,

Ok, folks, most of today's computers, probably close to 100% have card readers already included with them.

This is so simple to do. There is no software needed and the card actually acts like another hard drive. Very simple.

Plus PSE will pull pictures from it.

Make sure you check for deals on PSE before you buy. Sometimes it is included free with some new cameras. Or it can be had with the purchase of a new lens, etc.

http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/tdrc/index.cfm?product=photoshop_elements&loc=en

 

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=&sku=1004071&Q=&is=REG&A=details

 

 

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement