cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use nikon lens on canon body.

BestUps
Apprentice

Hello,
Got really hard time figuring this out, which adapter ring is needed in my case,
recentry bought Canon 200d body and wanted to use two lens with nikon F mount on it
Nikon AF-S Nikkor 35mm 1:1.8G DX
and
TAMRON AF 70-300MM F/4-5.6 DI LD MACRO (NIKON)
as I'm new to canon, would really prefer to use direct links, thank for all advices.

22 REPLIES 22

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

I think that is not going to work, because of the focusing distance between the lens and image sensor.

When you mount an adapter on a lens, it increases the distance between the lens and image sensor.  As long as the mount on the camera has a distance between the lens and the sensor, that is longer than the mount of the lens that you are adapting, then everything is fine.  

In other words, if the lens that you wish to adapt focuses longe than the what the lens mount on the camera needs, then the extra distance helps the lens that you are adapting, because you are moving it away from the sensor, giving it the extra distance that the lens needs.

Canon EF lenses require a longer distance between lens and image sensor than most other mounts.  For example, inserting an adapter between a Sony body and a Canon lens, helps the lens to focus because the Sony mount is shorter.  A Nikon mount is shorter than what a Canon lens needs, so the extra distance of an adapter doesn't impact the lens' ability to focus.

However, when you use a lens that focuses shorter than a Canon lens, then you have a major problem.  The Nikon lens needs a shorter distance between lens and image sensor.  Installing an adapter only increases that distance, instead of shortening it.