cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I take a picture of stars with Canon Rebel t6 with 50mm lens?

graciela11
Apprentice

I recently purchased a Rebel T6 with two different lenses 18-55mm and 50mm and I want to take pictures of the sky at night, I am a beginner and I have not figure out how to take the pictures.  Please someone share tips with me. 

11 REPLIES 11

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

@graciela11 wrote:

I recently purchased a Rebel T6 with two different lenses 18-55mm and 50mm and I want to take pictures of the sky at night, I am a beginner and I have not figure out how to take the pictures.  Please someone share tips with me. 

First, buy a good sturdy tripod.  And, I mean sturdy.  You want one made from metal, not made out of plastic like they have in the Big Box stores.  It is best to get one with an interchangeable head, too.  With your camera and lenses, I'd recommend one that handle a load of 10-20 pounds, the more load capacity the better.

Taking pictures of stars comes in two basic flavors.  Wide angle photos of the night sky, and extreme closeups of planets, nebulae, and galaxies and such.  Which type of astrophotography are you looking for?  The moon is a good place to start.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

@kvbarkley wrote:

Not much moon with a 55 mm lens. Look here:

http://www.bobatkins.com/photography/tutorials/astrophotography.html

Should be plenty of stars with an 18mm lens, though.  The Moon is just a good starting point, though.  I know it taught me a lot simply using the 70-300mm lens that came with my T5.

The Moon can be quite challenging. Capturing an image when it is full is like trying to photograph the dust on a lit light bulb.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."