cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hello New T6i owner with some questions

theandies
Enthusiast

Hello Canon Community,

I just bought my first DLSR yesterday and have been playing with it ever since.  I've go a question on changing the depth of field.  I set the setting as described in the manual but still can not get the background to blurr with the aperture setting of 5.6.

The manual says:

Set the Mode Dial to Av - done

Set the disired aperture - in this case f5.6

Take picture.

I'm a novice to SLR cameras and will probably have a lot of questions like this. 

So far the camera has exeeded my expectations and am itching to use the high end custom features.

Thanks

John

10 REPLIES 10

ScottyP
Authority
Hi john

Depth of field has an inverse relationship to the size of the opening size you set in your lens. A big opening will give a shallow depth of field in focus. A small pinhole aperture will give a vast depth of field in focus.

Confusingly, aperture is expressed with f/numbers, with a smaller f/number being a bigger aperture, and the bigger aperture giving the narrower in-focus zone.

Focal length counts too. A longer focal length (85 or 105 or 250mm) gives a shallower DOF Han you'd get from a shorter focal length (18 or 24 or 34mm )
To blur your background:
Set the lowest f/number you can get with your lens so get the biggest lens opening/aperture.
Get as close to the subject as you can.
Position subject so the background is as far behind the subject as possible. (You won't get much blur if your subject is shot head on while leaning o a wall for example )

To get even more blur buy a lens that gives you a lower f/number, like the new 50mm f/1.8 mk 3 Canon just released.
Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites