cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Having to press shutter button twice to get picture on T3i

tolebabe1
Apprentice

Up until yesterday, I have had no problems taking pictures - I'm fairly new with a DSLR, (the T3i is my first), and yesterday I was watching a video tutorial on this particular camera.  I went through the camera settings along with the instructor, through the menu settings, etc.  Today I cannot get the shutter to work the way it's supposed to! 

If I hold the shutter release half-way, I get the autofocus to work as usual, but when I continue to push it the rest of the way down, the shutter closes. I have to press the shutter release a second time before I get a photo.  I went into the custom functions and cleared all settings, (in case I had unwittingly set something that I didn't know I'd done Smiley Frustrated), but I still have to press the shutter release twice.

Does anyone know what happened, or what I'm doing or not doing??

TIA! Smiley Happy

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@cicopo wrote:

Sounds like you've set it for MIRROR LOCK UP if you're getting a photo on the second press.

Thanks!  That was the problem!  I thought I had cleared up all the changes I'd made, but apparently not - Smiley Sad

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

cicopo
Elite

Sounds like you've set it for MIRROR LOCK UP if you're getting a photo on the second press.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

@cicopo wrote:

Thanks!  That was the problem!  I thought I had cleared up all the changes I'd made, but apparently not - Smiley Sad

You're welcome. Glad it was an easy fix.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"I'm fairly new with a DSLR,"

Why were you in mirror lock up?  It is a more advanced setting.  And I would look for a new instructor if he/she did not see that right off!

EB