cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Event photography (Monster Jam)

MJPhotos
Apprentice

Hello Canon community! I'm fairly new to cameras in general, I got my first REAL camera, a Canon EOS Rebel T5 about two years ago and have taken a few decent shots with it, but I'm still no expert. I'm sure I still don't have the most desirable lenses either.

So to get to the point, in a few months I'll be going to a motor sports event called "Monster Jam." If you don't know what it is, for short it's a bunch of monster trucks smashing some cars. Anyway, the arena im going to is only about the size of a hockey rink, so I'm assuming I won't need a lot of zoom to get good video/photos. Now, since I still don't know as much as I'd like about cameras in general, I'd like to know several things.

1. What's easier to accomplish at such a sporting event with moving subjects? Photo or Video?

2. What are some tips for photos? I've never had great experience with getting photos of moving objects so I need some help on that

3. I still only have my Canon EOS rebel T5 and 3 lenses, but the only lens I have with decent zoom on it is a Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III, so is it even possible to get decent photos with such a set up. (There will be no room for a tripod in the grand stands)

Thanks for your tips, it's greatly appreciated!

4 REPLIES 4

PLee
Enthusiast
  1. Hard to say for photo or video as this will be dependant on your comfort level, background and needs.
  2. Would recommend the following settings for moving subjects: shooting mode (M, Av or Tv), AI Servo AF, Continuous Drive, Single Point AF (keep it in the center) and make sure you have a fast shutter speed (at least 1/500s). Full press and hold to take pictures or keep pressure on the shutter button so autofocus is actively working for you at all times. Make sure you start focusing with your subject of interest under your AF point.