Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 12,868
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Eos Rebel T6i not getting recognized by Windows 10 and Eos Utility 3

You need to call or email Microsoft.  I doubt this is a Canon issue.  It works as I do it every day.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-28-2019

Re: Eos Rebel T6i not getting recognized by Windows 10 and Eos Utility 3

I found the solution (You might think I am dumb after this lol)

 

So, I was convicted that the USB cable I was using was the original. I was wrong. The original was in another case, I was using an old cable from an old camera that I have here. So yeah, changing the cable worked.

 

I'll tag the cable to make sure this annoying problem doesn't happen anymore.

 

 

Thanks you all for the help! You can close the topic. Smiley Very Happy

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 12,868
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Eos Rebel T6i not getting recognized by Windows 10 and Eos Utility 3

Glad you found the solution. I was pretty convinced it was not a Canon issue.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 606
Registered: ‎02-13-2016

Re: Eos Rebel T6i not getting recognized by Windows 10 and Eos Utility 3

I used to think that a USB cable was a USB cable was a USB cable. But some members here and on other sites have pretty much convinced me that some are designed primarily as USB charging cables, some work better as data transfer cables and others may be suitable to do both jobs. I guess this explains why two similar looking cables can vary wildly in pricing and performance.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-02-2020

Re: Eos Rebel T6i not getting recognized by Windows 10 and Eos Utility 3

Im having the same problem and I have updated the T6i Firmware, disabled Wi-Fi/NFC and the latest Utility from Canon for my Camera. I have Win10 (64). 

 

Its still not being recognized. I placed usb in every port and have the same issue.

 

It works great i other computers I have connected it to but it doesnt work on mine. 

 

Is there a driver that i need for it to be recognized via usb on my computer

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 12,868
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Eos Rebel T6i not getting recognized by Windows 10 and Eos Utility 3

You are using the USB that came with the T6i?  If not do that.

Second check your firewall settings.

 

Does the T6i show up in Windows Explorer?

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-28-2019

Re: Eos Rebel T6i not getting recognized by Windows 10 and Eos Utility 3

Probably it's a driver issue. It happened to me a lot of times, even with the original cable. Everytime Windows updates is very possible to bug something and the driver installed doesn't work.

Try also to run all the Eos softwares that come with the driver. Last time I installed, the link for the one that recognizes did not appear in the Start Menu and Desktop. I had to go to the folder where it's located and create it by myself. Just go to the installation folder. and you'll find it there.
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,146
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Eos Rebel T6i not getting recognized by Windows 10 and Eos Utility 3


@CanvasNewYork wrote:

Im having the same problem and I have updated the T6i Firmware, disabled Wi-Fi/NFC and the latest Utility from Canon for my Camera. I have Win10 (64). 

 

Its still not being recognized. I placed usb in every port and have the same issue.

 

It works great i other computers I have connected it to but it doesnt work on mine. 

 

Is there a driver that i need for it to be recognized via usb on my computer


Is there any significant different between the "other computers" and your computer? Are you using a laptop or desktop?

 

Software applications have both software and hardware requirements.  People tend to overlook the hardware.  Canon recommends using an Intel chipset.  Many users with AMD chipsets always seem to problems with the USB ports.  Note, the USB port drivers for the AMD chipsets come from AMD,not Canon.

 

Are you using a USB hub?  Have you tried every USB port on the computer?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement