cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS T5 Rebel Not Focusing

rcksblr
Apprentice

Hi Everyone, 

I just recieved a Canon T5 Rebel in the mail this week. It came as a kit with several lenses, etc.  I'm brand new to photography so bear with me. 

When it arrived I used the EF 75-300MM and it worked great.  Then I used the EFS 18-55MM a couple days ago and that worked great as well. I then went and took some photos with a wide angle lense and that went great - photos turned out awesome.  Then, when I took the wide angle lense off to just use the EFS 18-55MM it was super blurry - so blurry it will not take a picture because it cannot focus.  What's weird is when I attach a wide angle lense back to the EFS 18-55MM it works great again for wide angle shots.  I tried the EF 75-300MM again and that works fine still.  So it's obviously the EFS 18-55MM. Could it be a setting that I accidentally messed up? I tried to reset all setting but that didn't seem to do the trick.  Did it already go bad on me? 

Any help would be appreciated! 

7 REPLIES 7

diverhank
Authority

The only thing I can think of is that you somehow had the AF-MF switch on the 18-55mm lens to MF which means no auto-focus.  You should check that.  If so, switch it back to AF then it would be fine.

With the wide angle adapter, since the Focal Length is so wide, you naturally have more depth of field (DOF) so it looks like it's working because most of the picture is in focus even though the camera cannot auto focus.  Take that off, the DOF is not as deep so out of focus images will look out of focus.  I hope that makes sense...

By the way, the wide angle adaptor is probably not something you want to use to often as it degrades the picture quality.  My guess is you bought the kit from Amazon? The camera and lenses are fine...the adaptor not so much...

================================================
Diverhank's photos on Flickr