cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS Rebel T6i Keeps Going Busy

DreamchasinIT
Apprentice

I purchased my Rebel T6i in early 2018.  My memory card is a SanDisk Ultra Plus 80 MB/s 32GB, and the Fireware is version 1.0.0. I'm still a novice when it comes to photography.

For the past few months, I've been experiencing some issues with my camera.  I mostly use it for shooting single shots in Manual and Auto mode.  After about 15-20 pictures in a session, the camera goes busy. When it first does, there's a slight lag and I cut the camera off and then back on and it goes back to normal.  When I continue shooting, the camera will go busy indefinitely within the next 5-10 shots.  I always end up having to cut the camera off and take the battery out because it would stay busy for a couple of hours. I have tried clearing and reformatting the memory card and resetting the camera back to factory settings a few times.  

9 REPLIES 9

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

Is this a full size card or a micro card with adapter? 

You can try to low-level reformat the card in the camera.

It is a full-size memory card.

Tim
Authority

DreamchasinIT, 

There are a few troubleshooting steps I'd like to help resolve this issue. We'll reset the camera, which should restore it to a default state. These steps should clear out the memory and thereby any errors which may be present.

- Anything attached or installed in the camera — memory cards, the lens, the battery, battery grips should all be removed.

- Once the lens is off let's check it using the steps below.

a) Clean the lens contacts* to restore connection with the body.

d) Try using a different memory card. All memory cards should be properly formatted in your camera prior to use.