cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS Rebel T6 Wrong Video Resolution

RebelCam
Apprentice

Hi,  this is my first post here. I have a problem with my Rebel T6, and I'm confused. I mostly bought it to take still shots, but I wanted to shoot some video recently for a class I'm in. 

The "movie recording size" is listed as 1920x1080, 30FPS. But when I shoot the video and put it into either Premeire or iMovie (the only two editing apps I have), there are black bars and the resolution looks a little blurry. When I check the project, it says 720p. But when I check the actual raw video files, they say dimensions of 1920x1080. 

Is that technically still 720p? I thought that should be 1080p? I apologize if these are dumb questions, I'm very new to this and just looking for some help on how to shoot in 1080p. 

Thanks! 

5 REPLIES 5

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

How are you transferring the video files to your computer?  Use the EOS Utility.  I suspect that your Mac is compressing the files during the transfer process.  You could also use a memory card reader to transfer files.  Canon also has a Movie Utility for editing and converting the video files.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

It sounds like you are trying to fit the movie into a non-HD format. What version of iMovie? What happens if you play them in quicktime?

The new iMovie uses the first clip in the movie to determine the format and resolution of the rest of the movie. Try starting a new project and putting these clips first.