cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS Rebel T5 external audio options

SpartaFire446
Apprentice

I recently purchases a Canon EOS Rebel T5 online, I realized when I got the camera tha it was not a T5I as I thought (my fault for not paying closer attention) I am filming a movie using this camera and I WILL need external audio (i.e Shotgun mic) However where this camra does not have an external audio input jack aside from getting a different camera what are my options if any for using external audio? Thank you in advance for all your help. Also be adv. this is my first time using this camera but I will have a camera and audio person in control. I just want to have all my ducks in a row before I get those people on board. Thank you again

8 REPLIES 8

Richard
Product Expert
Product Expert
Hi SpartaFire446, As you've seen, this camera does not offer a connection for an external microphone. I regret the difficulty this causes.
Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.

@Richard wrote:
Hi SpartaFire446, As you've seen, this camera does not offer a connection for an external microphone. I regret the difficulty this causes.

Thank you for restating what he already knows. You've been a tremndous help to all of us.

@zekethegeke wrote:

@Richard wrote:

Thank you for restating what he already knows. You've been a tremndous help to all of us.

As have you.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Highblood
Apprentice
Hi SpartaFire446!

I purchased a T5 not fulling understading the difference in features between the T5 and the T5I.

As far as external audio goes with a boom, The work around I would suggest would be to buy any audio recorder that will accept your microphones input and record audio via the recorder. I tend to clap on camera so I have a reference point to sync the audio in post production.