cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS Rebel T3 and 2 lenses - EFS 18-55mm and EF 75-300

bbshort241
Apprentice

I am a beginner with an EOS Rebel T3 and 2 lenses - an EFS 18-55mm and an EF 75-300mm.  I have been getting good pictures of my Grandson's soccer and football but with baseball season coming up I think I need something in between.    I will be about 15'-40' from them and feel I need a wider angle.  Any suggestions would be most appreciated.

5 REPLIES 5

ScottyP
Authority

Hi, BB,

Can you clarify your question please?  Do you mean you want something "in between" your 2 lenses, or do you say you want something "wider" than you can get with the 18-55 (wider than 18mm)?

I will say you almost certainly don't want something wider than 18mm for sports.  At 40', the players would appear as ants with a lens any wider than 18mm.  And up-close a lens wider than 18 will tend to distort people in an unattractive way, with comically/grotesquely enlarged noses and foreheads, with tiny bodies and feet. 

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

I see what you are saying about the wider angle and the distortion.  I guess what I mean to say is that I am not getting enough zoom with my 18-55 and when I try to get in closer with my 75-300 I get so little of the whole picture.  I hope this helps clarify my question.  Thank you for your help.