cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dull Images on 600D and Speedlite Question

Brian205
Contributor

a) I got a used Canon 600D.

When I take pictures with it. The Images on the Camera Screen have High Contrast.  When I downloaded and save the Images on my Computer. the Images are Low Contrast, Dull Images.. ... I have to adjust increase the Picture Style Contrast on the Camera to make a a Bit better.

why is this ?

I use a Transcend 4G Card which came with the Camera.

is this because its a Old or Used Camera or the Card is not so good ?

-----------------------

b) Is the Yongnuo YN 560 IV the Best Value Speedlite.

I am doing to buy one for my 600d

I am a Hobbyist 🙂

-------------

21 REPLIES 21

@Brian205 wrote:

a) I got a used Canon 600D.

When I take pictures with it. The Images on the Camera Screen have High Contrast.  When I downloaded and save the Images on my Computer. the Images are Low Contrast, Dull Images.. ... I have to adjust increase the Picture Style Contrast on the Camera to make a a Bit better.

why is this ?

We sometimes see this complaint if the user has his camera (or photo editor) set to the wrong color space, i.e. Adobe RGB rather than the more "normal" sRGB. Adobe RGB actually has a broader gamut and can register fine color distinctions that sRGB cannot. But the printer or display device has to be specifically set up for it; otherwise the images look dull. It sounds as though you're not using a photo editor, and I don't know whether the 600D is even capable of using Adobe RGB. But it's worth looking into; maybe the previous owner left the camera with a setting you don't want.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

As soon as I read your complaint I thought "wrong color space" too.

If your file numbers begin with the underscore ( _MG ) then the camera is set to Adobe RGB which you don't want. Your files should start with IMG.