Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-14-2019
Accepted Solution

Difference between T6 CR2 and T7i CR2?

Hey everyone. Ive searched high and low, and even some threads in this community but I can not find a definitive answer.

I had a Rebel T6 which shot in CR2 format. My Windows 10 Laptop had no issues viewing these files with the builtin Photos app within Windows. Its actually what I used to edit my photos before I purchased the Photography PS package. Ive shot over 10k photos, not a single issue.

Flash forward to about a month ago, and I traded in the T6 for the T7i. T7i also shoots in the CR2 format, however, these files WILL NOT OPEN, nor is there a thumbnail. (The photos app states that the file cant be opened because its not supported or the codec isnt installed; Mind you DPP IS installed, just for the sake of it, I never actually use it). I understand there is DPP/Bridge/PS/LR but I am not looking for "Oh just use another software" answers.

I am also a PC Tech and all file formats are the same. CR2 is CR2 ... Doesnt matter where it comes from, otherwise, it wouldnt be called CR2. So why is Photos stating the file isnt supported? If it makes a difference, I transfer my photos directly from the SD card, to my laptop.

Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,174
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Difference between T6 CR2 and T7i CR2?

Windows 10 has not updated the codec since the date of the 1D X (~2012). Thus W10 natively cannot decode the T7i CR2 file.

 

The new 1903 update is supposed to contain an updated codec.

 

You can also buy a product called FastPictureViewer.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LR Classic
Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,318
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Difference between T6 CR2 and T7i CR2?

The difference between a T6 CR2 and a T7i CR2 is that one is for the T6 and the other for the T7i. All cameras are different and it requres a priori knowledge to properly interpret the numbers from the sensor.

 

So while the data in any given CR2 is the same, i.e., you can parse the info according to the CR2 format, you can not get the colors right without measuring a camera first. That is the problem that Adobe's DNG format tries to solve, but note that you cannot convert any given .CR2 into DNG unless Adobe has characterised the camera first.

 

Therefore, RAW processors read what camera the .CR2 describes, and if that camera is not in their database, simply pass on it.

 

Now there are some sets of cameras - like all the Canon's that used the 18MP sensor a while back, that do have practically interchangeable .CR2s, you just have to edit the name of the camrera in the CR2, first.

 

 

 

Highlighted
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 813
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: Difference between T6 CR2 and T7i CR2?

[ Edited ]

What you need is Microsoft's RAW Image Extension, which you can download from this site:

See the DPReview on this:

https://www.dpreview.com/news/2812846720/microsoft-releases-raw-image-extension-to-get-raw-image-pre...

Once you have gone to the page, click on the GET link on the right side and it will update your system.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/p/raw-image-extension/9nctdw2w1bh8?=&activetab=pivot%3Aoverviewtab

 

That should sort you out.  If it does, please ID this thread as resolved, so others can zero in on the answer.

 

cheers

cheers Trevor

"All the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris
"A good swordsman is more important than a good sword" Amit Kalantri
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-14-2019

Re: Difference between T6 CR2 and T7i CR2?

The RAW Image Extension requires the 1903 update. After updating and installing the RAW Image Extension, the CR2 files now open using the Windows Photo app and the thumbnail appears as it should. Ty Tronhard.


@Tronhard wrote:

What you need is Microsoft's RAW Image Extension, which you can download from this site:

See the DPReview on this:

https://www.dpreview.com/news/2812846720/microsoft-releases-raw-image-extension-to-get-raw-image-pre...

Once you have gone to the page, click on the GET link on the right side and it will update your system.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/p/raw-image-extension/9nctdw2w1bh8?=&activetab=pivot%3Aoverviewtab

 

That should sort you out.  If it does, please ID this thread as resolved, so others can zero in on the answer.

 

cheers


 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement